Sandboxie phones home?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Firebytes, Jun 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Hi all,

    I was toying with the idea of installling Sandboxie on my system again (had it once quite a while back) but I read a user review at one of the download sites that it tries to connect to the internet everytime it is ran. It seems I do remember blocking it's access to the internet with my firewall when I had it before due to this.

    Does anyone know for sure if it does try to access the internet? If it does then why does it do so, where does it try to connect, and what information does it send?

    Thanks
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Maybe it calls home to check for possible updatings of Sandboxie, which is for your own good.
    Check your options for updating in Sandboxie, maybe you can turn it OFF and make sure this time, that your firewall indeed blocked Sandboxie.
     
  3. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    While it is possible that it was just checking for updates it is unlikely. I always turn automatic updates off in every program I run. I just prefer to do it manually and be in charge of when programs access the internet.

    Maybe it didn't have an option for turning that feature off. I don't remember if it did or not. I guess I will just have to reinstall if I want to find out unless someone here has the answers.
     
  4. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    It doesn't. Try it and see. If you get any pop-ups you're not sure of, show us a screenshot of it.
     
  5. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    SandboxIE Control.exe (when launched) does attempt HTTP out to remote IP/port 65.254.250.105/80:
    OrgName: Endurance International Group, Inc.
    OrgID: EIG-12
    Address: 70 Blanchard Road
    City: Burlington
    StateProv: MA
    PostalCode: 01803
    Country: US

    Easily blocked with firewall without ill effect.
    Caveat: Manual updates require you allow it.
    I don't know why, however, it is attempting said connection when control.exe launches, as I do not believe automatic updates are an option.
     
  6. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If only i knew what you're talking about o_O
    No firewall has alerted me of such a thing!?
    Can you spare a screenshot?

    TIA

    (i had to reinstall it to double check)
     
  7. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Hi Pedro
    Open up SandboxIE control.
    Help/Check for new version.
    Your firewall should prompt for approval.
    If not, you probably already have a rule to allow this application.
    Check your log, you should find it there.

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Ah, i need to click update. Thanks Bob D. I actually never clicked help.
    Now, on to GSS!
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Just popped into the Sandboxie Forum to present this info. for Tzuk, the author, to comment on. Another Wilders member had all ready asked him to stop in on this thread. We shall see.
     
  10. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Just a clarification here to alleviate any trepidation.
    Endurance is not some sinister entity, but rather a popular web hosting service.
    (Should have mentioned this in previous post).
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi Bob OT, what is this FW in the scrren shot?
     
  12. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Hi aigle

    Filseclab's Xfilter (v. 3.0.3.8982)
     
  13. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.
     
  15. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    We're OT again, but...
    Yes, it is the same.
    Yes, I've seen the report.
    "Level of anti-leak Protection" of "none" is obviously inaccurate.
    A "very poor", or even "abysmal" rating may be more appropriate.
    Nevertheless, of no concern. With my PS HIPS, I pass virtually ALL leaktests I've thrown at it.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  16. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    tzuk, as usual, has responded promptly to this query on the SBIE forum.
    If I may paraphrase:
    SBIE checks +/- weekly for updates, and asks for permission when doing so.

    I would suggest interested parties to read his response on the SBIE forum:
    http://sandboxie.com/phpbb/ Under the heading "Anything Else".
     
  17. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Voila, why would Tzuk be interested in anything else than updating ? That wouldn't make sense, certainly not for a legitimate freeware.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.