Sandboxie delete command

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Overkill, Dec 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    I have been trying sdelete but it takes a longggg time so how do I go back to the default delete command?
    Also, does it hurt your hdd using the secure delete commands frequently?
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Sandboxie Control > Sandbox > DefaultBox > Sandbox Settings > Delete > Delete Command > empty textbox or RMDIR.
    Not really, most HDD's can survive worse.

    I personally set my sandbox folder in a RAMDisk created by Softperfect RAM Disk. That means nothing will remain after dismount or shutdown, not even overwritten data.
     
  3. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    Cool I was hoping it was as simple as deleting the command text, have you ever tried eraser? does it take as long as sdelete?
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It depends on the parameters you set, especially number of overwrites. One pass is enough, any more is far from proven even in theory.
     
  5. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    Since I use CCleaner for other cleaning purposes I have Sandboxie setup to auto delete sandbox on close.

    Example: location of CCleaner install and Sandboxie delete command

    "C:\Program Files\CCleaner\CCleaner.exe" /delete "%SANDBOX%"

    CCleaner secure file deletion options:
    1 pass
    3 passes
    7 passes
    35 passes

    Obviously the larger the pass overwrite the longer it takes to delete sandbox.

    Currently I'm using 3 passses.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.