Sandboxie Crashes Extensions and Doesn't Work Anymore

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by Capricornia, Oct 15, 2020.

  1. Capricornia

    Capricornia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Hello. I've been using Sandboxie for years with barely any problems. However, starting about a week ago, I observed how Sandboxie cause my extensions in Edge and Chrome to crash and then it just wouldn't work any longer for those broswers. Below are screen shots of what happens. Also, if anyone has any insights on what the problem might be, I would appreciate your input. edge.crash.jpg chrome.crash (2).jpg
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
  3. Capricornia

    Capricornia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Hi, bjm_. I have looked over that information along with other information from this site before I had posted my thread, however(if I understood the information correctly), I tried to download different versions of Sandboxie, but nothing helped it to start working on my computer again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
  4. Capricornia

    Capricornia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Okay, I'm good now. In one of the links, someone said that they downloaded 5.43.5 64bit from Majorgeeks, so I went over there and downloaded that version and now it works again. :thumb: Thanks, bjm_.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Capricornia, you need to change the target path in your shortcut to the one written below, this target opens Edge in the DefaultBox:

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" msedge.exe --no-sandbox"

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-sbie-open-source.428156/page-20#post-2954986

    If you like to open Edge in a sandbox other than the DefaultBox, use this targert path instead:

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge msedge.exe --no-sandbox"

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-sbie-open-source.428156/page-20#post-2954996

    Check this post also:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-sbie-open-source.428156/page-20#post-2955000

    Sandboxie control>Configure>Windows shell integration, Click Add shortcuts, Select the sandbox in which you want Edge to run and click OK, in any of the Menus of the Sandboxie Start menu that opens up, select the shortcut for Edge and click it. After clicking the shortcut , the sandboxed shortcut for the browser will appear in the Desktop. Afterward, change the target to the one (above) that you would like to use.

    Bo
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You posted while I was writing my post above. I am glad you are good now. But I ll leave my (summary) post for people using 5.33.6 that might experience the problem you described.

    Bo
     
  7. Mangaguy9

    Mangaguy9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    WV
    hello. new member here. created account specifically so I could reply to this topic. that is, the issue with SANDBOXIE crashing everytime ANY chrome-based browser is started within sandbox, i.e. CHROME, BRAVE, which are the two i've encountered the issue. I created a CHROME_DEBUG.LOG for anyone who may know what to review to see if the problem is logged in some form. I must add that in the log file, I sorta "redacted" some personal info with "XXXXX". hopefully I didn't delete any useful info. if so, I am willing to create another .log without any removals. I also included a screenshot of my version of sandboxie as well as the developers info, which I downloaded from Github. Thanks for any help. I will try the above mentioned resolution in the meantime. Not sure about the EDGE "Fix" because I use mostly CHROME and/or BRAVE. for clarification, my Sandboxie version is: 5.42.1 x64. Windows 10 Pro x64. All updates, etc. https://imgur.com/IhNQbxp
    HTML:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BQXKCxk-9ujwPcn_6UIz8w9s-ek4bUmP/view?usp=sharing
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,299
    Location:
    UK
  9. Interpirate

    Interpirate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
    If anyone's figured out how to fix this for windows 10, I could use some help. I have no idea what I'm looking for
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
  11. Interpirate

    Interpirate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,299
    Location:
    UK
    Try running the 5.43.6 installer again (it will install over the top of the 5.43.6 program you already have.) Then restart your machine.
    After the restart if it is still not working look in Services and make sure that the SbieSvc is listed as running. If it says stopped double-click on it and select start. Then reboot machine again.
    Let us know how you get on.
    I had to do something similar.
     
  13. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    uk
    Or try uninstalling everything using a free uninstaller program that hunts out orphan files and registry entries, eg IOBit Uninstaller (I know some don't like IOBit products but whatever suits), then reboot and reinstall. I've had to do this from time to time to get things to work. I use SB classic, but the principle should still hold.

    You may still need to follow Bo's advice re Edge --no-sandbox
     
  14. AMK

    AMK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    new york
    How do you get to Services?
     
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,299
    Location:
    UK
    If you mean Windows Services (which you probably do) on Windows 10 just click the start flag bottom left of your screen once. Immediately type the word Services. (you don't need to enter it in a box as Windows does it all automagically)
    Then click on the result that comes up. It will say Services app.
     
  16. Mangaguy9

    Mangaguy9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    WV
    @stapp

    I apologize for the delay, but the installation of SB version 5.43.6 x64 did fix the chrome-based browser crashes. Thanks for the information.

    P.S. Is it OK to delete the links to my chrome_debug.log and screenshot? I'm unsure if they were/are of any use. THX again!

    .
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,299
    Location:
    UK
    Good to hear you are sorted now.
    If you mean your info on google drive, if you want to delete it go for it :)
     
  18. Interpirate

    Interpirate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
    Sorry for the super late reply, but I installed the version you recommended and I'm still getting the same messages. Also SbieSvc isn't even coming up in services for me :/
     
  19. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    If you are using a David's version post issues in this thread please:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-plus-sbie-fork.427755/

    In the last pages of the thread you will find other users having the same problem and possible solutions.
     
  20. Sonoffar

    Sonoffar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    I attempted to download Sandboxie from Major Geeks, using both of their download points. This Windows Defender pop up is what I got.: " Trojan:Win32/Masslogger!ml " Defender will not save the Sandboxie.exe file.
    Has anyone else had this issue when trying to download Sandboxie from MajorGeeks?

    I have used Sandboxie for many years but it looks like it's no longer going to be a functioning program. At this point I cannot get it to function with Chrome, Brave, or Edge.
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,299
    Location:
    UK
    Please see here in the ongoing thread...

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...sbie-fork-versions-with-signed-driver.434924/

    Download can be gotten from here
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/v0.5.0 (scroll down for the 5.45 build you need, and also read notes at top.)
     
  22. Sonoffar

    Sonoffar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the links and help "stapp".
    Good info on the Wilders security page, the attempted download from the github site was not good.
    I am trying for https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/download/v0.5.0/SandboxieInstall32-v5.45.0.exe.
    Unfortunately, I am getting the same results. Win 10 Defender will not download this file and reports it to be: "Trojan:Win32/Masslogger!ml "
    This is a Win 10/Home edition. This attempt was made using a Chrome browser. Both are up to date and functioning as they should.
    Anyone have any ideas or thoughts on this? or having the same issues.?
     
  23. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    Location:
    Austria
    No problem here with downloading the same exe-file as you and also with a Win 10/Home Edition.
    The only difference: I do not use Chrome as browser but Firefox. But I cannot imagine that this has effects for the behaviour of the Windows Defender.
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,975
    Chrome and Firefox uses a safe-list by default, should be same/similar because both are from google ;) Defender has its own (features). I don't use safe-list because i use ublock with a variety of other blocking lists.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.