Sandboxie and Firefox

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Fox Mulder, Jul 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Hi everyone. I've been trying to make Sandboxie play nice with Firefox but I'm having some issues.

    I added firefox.exe to the forced programs list, as well as plugin-container.exe, and my flash player executable. I also checked off the recommended sandboxie options for running Firefox.

    The problem is that when I load a flash video, it's often very slow to load and freezes the browser for up to 10 seconds. Sometimes when the flash video loads, I get the following error:

    I can click OK, reload the page, and the video works fine.

    Anyone have any insights into this?
     
  2. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I had the same problem with the latest flash player 11.3 , reverting back to 11.2 solved that problem.
    In any case, it has nothing to do with Sandboxie.

    btw you don't need to add plugin-container.exe and flash player executable to the forced programs, they will run sandboxed anyway if you force just firefox.
     
  3. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    The latest versions of Adobe Flash Player (11.3.300.265 and before 11.3.300.257) are not fully compatible with Sandboxie. As far as I understand it has to do with the fact that the new Flash Player versions use by default an own sandbox ("Protected Mode").

    My solution:
    I deactived the Flash-Player-Sandbox as decribed here:

    http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1018071?tstart=0

    See the last part:

    Since I have done "ProtectedMode=0" the Flash Player works fine again within Sandboxie. :thumb:
     
  4. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Nice find Peter :thumb:

    Well, indeed, there's no need to have ProtectedMode in flash player enabled if Sandboxie is used :)

    I think I'll upgrade the flash player and try it out with ProtectedMode disabled.

    Edit : Just did that and it works like a charm :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Good to hear that it works for you too. Thanks for your feedback.
     
  6. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    It worked for me too. Thanks Peter!
     
  7. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    :thumb: You are welcome, Fox Mulder.
     
  8. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    Had some crashes with the newest version of flash player, so I tried disabling its built in Protected Mode, but it seems no working for me. The flash player still crashes when I go watching videos on Youtube.
     
  9. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    It happened to me too (even with older versions of the Flash player).
    I had to add the plugin-container.exe (= part of Firefox) to the programs which are allowed to start within the sandbox. Since this time I had no more crashes.

    (In the latest versions of the Flash Player of course in combination with disabling the Protected Mode as described above.)
     
  10. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    Did you use EMET, which seems to be the problem for me? I had EMET installed when the crashes happened. No more crashes since I removed EMET from my system.
     
  11. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    No, I did not use EMET.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.