Sandboxie and Fdisr

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by divedog, Dec 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    will they play nice together? I was thinking of giving it a try just for fun.
     
  2. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yes, they do, quite nicely. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I have not had any problems with SAndiebax .... But I tend to use Defensewall or REturnil
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    At this moment, I combine Sandboxie and DefenseWall in a frozen snapshot without problems.
    Sandboxie isolates infections and DefenseWall limits their actions to the very bone and if it's an executable, AE will beat them to death.
    And Sandboxie/DefenseWall protect my data partition : no access, no reading, no writing, no stealing and that is exactly what malware want to steal and that makes them hungry and thirsty, another torture.
    I put all these malware on the North Pole without food, water and clothes.
    I like to pester/torture malwares on my computer, before my boot-to-restore removes them. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2007
  5. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Thanx for the reply, I will give it a try, from reading the description it sounded like it could modify the MBR so I thought I would ask.
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Only the earlier versions of FD modified the MBR, the last couple of versions leave it alone.

    Acadia
     
  7. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    I have 1.05 build 166. What is the latest? and do I need to get in touch with Raxco? Would it even do me any good? I can honestly say FDISR is probably the best software I have ever purchased. By the way I just tried Sandboxie for the first time also a nice piece of software, I managed without to much reading to open a program in the sandbox and a browser but I haven't figured out how to open Outlook Express in the box yet.
     
  8. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
  9. GarySugar

    GarySugar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Assuming it's your default mail client, one way would be a shortcut to:

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" mail_agent
     
  10. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Thanx for the help, I am not finding that .exe file, what I am trying is right clicking the OE icon on my desktop and then run in the sandbox, I get the following error, see jpeg.
     

    Attached Files:

    • OE.jpg
      OE.jpg
      File size:
      49.2 KB
      Views:
      186
  11. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
  12. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Thanx that helped.
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    If you can prove you bought FDISR at Raxco, you will probably get the latest complete version of FDISR, but don't wait too long. I got it this way from Raxco.
     
  14. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    I can prove it, I have the original receipt, I just sent them an email. I also purchased the maintenance agreement it dose not say on the receipt how long it's for, I want to think it was a year, which means I am a few months over, oh well trying anyway. Thanx for all the help you guys are great.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.