Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,358
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Hi Bo,
    Thanks for your suggestions! I've always used the 'combined' installer and never had any problem on any machine (XP,Vista, Win Eight). Furthermore I've always installed over the old version without a single hiccup. On this particular situation I took extra precautions the second time around, and uninstalled the old version but for some reasons the installer hangs at about 98% before completion (the AV was disabled). I'll wait for a week and will try again with 4.13.1 (Nowadays I can't get myself to try to fix issues that could be frankly ignored).

    I must say though that version 4.06 works fine, I usually I'm keen to update on my main machine with Win8 as the latest OSs often need new versions...
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Osaban, on more than a few occasions I saw Tzuk recommend what he says in the quote below to people having an issue installing or reinstalling Sandboxie. It does work sometimes. I would try what he says using the separate installer for 4.13.1.
    Bo
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,358
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Thanks, I'll try your suggestions and let you know about the outcome...
     
  4. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,559
    Sandboxie 4.13.2 Beta is out:
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=19151
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    4.13.2 looking good here (W7).:)

    Bo
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You guys using outdated Sandboxie versions ought to read this.
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=19151&start=45#p102807
    Theres really no reason to keep using an old version. I have a lot of programs in XP, more than in W7 and all my programs in both computers run well under Sandboxie. No errors or nothing. On the rare occasions when something has not worked well under SBIE, for whatever reason, I get rid of that program and look for a replacement.

    Bo
     
  7. stvs

    stvs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    greece
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I suggest you download the separate installer again. And run it over the top. Early today, the correct separate installers had not been uploaded to the server when the announcement was made, it has been fixed.

    Human error. It has happened before so you should always look for the correct version number in the language windows. Thats what I do to make sure I am installing what its supposed to.

    Bo
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,701
    Location:
    USA
    Same for me, Bo.
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Nice to know, Page. I have been giving this version a good test today. It feels real good.

    Bo
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,701
    Location:
    USA
    I decided not to avoid this beta so I couldn't be accused of being a dodger. That was brave of me, wasn't it? :cool:
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You were thinking Braves Dodgers at the same time as I. Look at your Conversations.

    Bo
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,701
    Location:
    USA
    Got it running on two W7x64 machines currently.
    Installation looked a little more complex than the old days, but still smooth.
    The old confidence is coming back.
     
  14. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    4.13.2 beta installed here and also running well as per usual. :thumb:
     
  15. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    I have been using the current beta too. Seems like the official release of the 64 bit version of the Chrome browser doesn't work with Sandboxie. Just curious if anyone has tried it alone or with Sandboxie with any problems? I guess I will have to wait for Invincea to test it out first.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sportscubs, be in the lookout for beta 4.13.3, its mainly for Chrome-37 compatibility and will be released soon.

    Bo
     
  17. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    989
  18. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    My chrome and sbie are not getting along either after updating to v37
     
  19. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Awesome, thanks Bo
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Overkill, 4.13.3 is out now. Support for Chrome 37-64 is included in the fixes.

    Bo
     
  21. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,014
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Latest beta is a no go here because Chrome 37 will not function under it on my laptop. Went back to previous beta and have to stay at previous version of Chrome. I am beginning to wander a lot about the future developement of a once great product which I have trusted as part of my security for several years now. Hope they sort it out but why all the problems on this?

    Gary
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Gary, perhaps you can post in one of this threads about your problem. I see Curt asking someone "Are you getting a crash DMP (perhaps in C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\CrashReports)?" If you have one, post it there. That would help.
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?p=103111#p103113

    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19516

    @Overkill, Did this version work for you?

    I am already using this version in my XP and W7 but I don't have Chrome. All my programs are working well including Firefox and IE.

    Bo
     
  23. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Just install over the top as usual?
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes, over the top is fine. Give feedback afterward, this version its supposed to fix the crash you reported at the SBIE forum.

    Bo
     
  25. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I tried both ways (over the top and uninstalling first) and my problem still exists.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.