Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I updated Vivaldi from 2.4 to 2.5, and no problems on the real machine, but I couldn't update Vivaldi in the dedicated Vivaldi sandbox. I do think this is a bit weird, you should be able to update browsers that are installed inside the sandbox. I guess I will need to post this on the SBIE forum. Do I need to sign up again to the new forum?
     
  2. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: May 25, 2019
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    For security reasons, that's the way its supposed to work. I think its the way it should be. Otherwise, malware could update the browser while running sandboxed and do what it wants (until you delete contents).

    But, you should be able to update your sandboxed install by running the installer of the new version in the sandbox where you have Vivaldi installed. That you should be able to do.

    Bo
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This is exactly what I'm talking about. In the past you could simply run the browser installer inside the sandbox and it would update the browser. For some reason, this doesn't work anymore, at least not with Vivaldi. What does work is completely deleting the sandbox and then reinstall Vivaldi. Perhaps some developer can give some more info, will soon post it on the Sandboxie forum.

    Thanks, what a bummer.
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Well, until (if) we get back old Sandboxie Forum....new Sandboxie Forum has been invaluable go-to source, for me.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2019
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,156
    i'd say don't get your hopes high. apparently, gone for good.
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Okay.
    My feelings remain that users be supportive of Sandboxie Forum, wherever it resides.
    I'm thankful we still have an official Forum and thankful we have Barb@Sophos.
    Thanks
     
  8. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,156
    as long as elam is alive and well, sbie users don't need an official forum. elam's been much more helpful & useful than official forum to sbie users. this thread should become the official forum for sbie.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    I'm at a loss to understand your objection to an official Forum.
    Maintaining an official Forum demonstrates continued interest in maintaining Sandboxie.
    My interest is in maintaining Sandboxie.
    Just me. Just saying.
    Thanks
    LUV @bo elam
     
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,156
    there's no objection. it's sophos giving up on sbie, not me.
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    as much im used to argue with Bo for some trivial matters sometimes, i can't deny this.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,705
    Location:
    USA
    It takes more than merely being alive and well. We're fortunate that he has the inclination and the dedication to be here helping. He's a walking SBIE User Manual! :thumb:
     
  13. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,156
    it was just a rhetorical statement. the fact is elam's been the go-to source for sbie users not getting what they're looking for from the official forum.
     
  14. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Help

    I can not open outlook.com to check my MS mail using sandboxie latest beta and latest Firefox on a Win 10 machine

    Came
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I'm glad they at least still have a forum, but it's yet another account that I have to sign up for, I'm a bit lazy.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Came, perhaps the site was having issues when you posted. I dont have an account there but the site opens fine for me at this moment.

    Bo
     
  17. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks Bo, I will check it later today, now I am checking my mail from my Mac :rolleyes:

    Came
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,014
    "only" windows 8, but outlook.com (needs live account+login) running fine with firefox 67 (new profile in the box)
     
  19. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hello Bo

    I still can not log in @ hotmail.com
    I don't have any issue log in forums or in other sites

    Do you think the problem could be UBlock Origin and the new FF browser privacy?

    Sandboxie latest and SD

    Thanks
    Came
     
  20. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    175
    Does logging into outlook.com works if the browser is not sandboxed? If it doesn't work unsandboxed maybe try default setting/disabling ublock for test purposes or default ff settings.
    Since you seem to use SD also just restart the pc after testing to delete all changes.
     
  21. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks

    I remove sandbox to FF and it worked, I think the issue at this moment with outlook.com is the Sign-in options changed :mad:

    Came
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    That being the cause of your issue makes more sense to me, than being caused by running sandboxed.

    Bo

     
  23. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    175
    @camelia I just found out I got an old outlook.com account and I could log in sandboxed (red border for me).
    FF 67.0.1, Adguard Desktop, NoScript, CanvasBlocker used here. Maybe create a new sandbox and try again with the sandboxie default settings?
    Sorry after that I'm out of my depth with any other help.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats a good idea, Freki (the "maybe" dont go with it).

    Bo
     
  25. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks Bo :-*

    I am sandboxie user from many years I even have to two life licenses, buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut I don't know how to create a new sandbox :oops:
    I only use the basic sandboxie setttings :oops:

    Update I can not enter to sandboxie forum sandboxed :mad:

    Came
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.