Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    For me it's not about the time. I refuse to pay 56€ for rehips when i can use sandboxie for free. (Like you got a lifetime for rehips i got one for sandboxie)
    If they got a similar price like sandboxie for yearly i could think about it. But 56€ vs 0€ or (18€ if i had to pay) is a easy choice for me :D
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    i would call it bashing for no reason. or a clever thrown <`)-)-)-)-->
    hips is hips and sandbox is sandbox.
     
  3. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    698
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    There is free version of ReHIPS, with some limitations though.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,227
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Does it give less problems? But to me it looks too complex, so I have no interest. But yes, seems like the newest version of Sandboxie has introduced problems with Chrome and Vivaldi. Chrome can't launch and close correctly, and Vivaldi can't close correctly.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,230
    Location:
    UK
    Have you entered Vivaldi.exe under Lingering Programs?

    Worked for me.

    I also have it under Leader Programs.
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,161
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Less issues? yes since it uses Windows' tightened user-profiles and other Windows mechanisms so less breakage of apps.
    Complex? yes and no. Yes at first, you have to learn how to use it (if you can handle an HIPS, you shouldn't have much problems. ). No, because with time, it becomes relatively easy to use.
    Of course, it may have some issues with some softs, nothing is perfect, but the devs work hard to fix them for the next version, they always listen reports and mention if a fix will be applied or not.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,227
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes but it doesn't work. I'm guessing it's because I use quite a lot of tabs, and Vivaldi often stays in memory for hours. Older versions of Sandboxie didn't have any problems with closing Vivaldi, it took only about 30 seconds or so.

    Yes, I forgot it works a bit different. But I prefer to use virtualization.
     
  8. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Is Lingering Programs even a consideration for latest Windows 10, I wonder (not older OS)? I'm at the point where it helps to have another product mentioned. I'm saying this b/c it's the first time I have multiple issues, including hardware, and can't make Sbie work with a certain browser. We'll see about upcoming versions, I guess. But I want something to substitute for HitmanPro.Alert and Sbie has been just about perfect in that respect.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Rasheed, Vivaldi is officially a supported browser. You should make a report in Problems at the Sandboxie forum.

    Bo
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi plat1098, sure, Lingering programs is still a valid Sandbox setting.

    Bo
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I dony know, but I think this thread ...is getting hijacked by the MT boys :D.

    Bo
     
  12. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,132
    1 Not all the boisterous participants in the recent discussion are current members of MT.
    2 Attempted hijack, yes. Aborted by pilot. :)
    3 Both Sandboxie and ReHIPS do sandboxing of selected applications, albeit in different ways. But let's not talk about ReHIPS in this thread.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi shumu26, I thought that was funny. :)

    Bo
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  15. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I read earlier this thread at the Sandboxie forum, is about the Chrome issue between Sandboxie and Chrome 72. This is a FYI type of post for people who don't go to the Sandboxie forum, at this moment the workaround is to disable Hardware acceleration. That seems to fix the issue for some users. The developers need your help, as of yet, they havent been able to reproduce the problem. You guys having the issue should post in the thread below and give as much information that you can to help developers replicate the problem. Fixing the problem is easy, the hard part is reproducing and finding whats causing the problem.

    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=26399&start=15

    Bo
     
  17. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you for the info. It doesn't sound encouraging that the issue cannot, as of now, be reproduced. Personally, I had other hardware issues in addition to the SBIE2101 so I ditched Chrome altogether. All I can say is that the issue popped up seemingly randomly after Chrome updated, making it probably even more difficult to pinpoint the source. Disabling hardware acceleration, for me with a NVIDIA processor, is at best an extremely temporary situation. I find Sandboxie worthwhile so it's no big deal for me to switch browsers. :)
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,690
    I don't know whether it has been happening after the latest Win 10 home update (vers. 1809 build 17763.316) or it has something to do with Chrome (latest 64 bit), but the sandbox is not automatically deleted when closing Chrome, I have to use "File/Terminate all programs" to delete the sandbox. I have 'Chrome.exe and Chrome programs' listed in 'Lingering programs'. SB version: 5.28
    Any ideas?
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,136
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I have chrome.exe as Lingering and Leader Programs.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,690
    Hey thanks! By adding Chrome.exe to 'Leader Programs' solved the problem...
     
  21. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,313
    Sandboxie v5.28 Released (February 15, 2019)
    Website
    Download
    Changes
     
  22. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you mood--an anticipated release. Reinstalled and configured Chrome, unfortunately still getting the Sbie2101 error upon opening Chrome. Can't link anything specific to it, it seems to hitch a little when opening, then the error occurs but not every time you open the browser. The changelog didn't note anything specific to Chrome anyway. Not disabling Hardware Acceleration but has anyone found this to be successful w/this error?

    sbie error.PNG
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I dont use Chrome so I cant confirm the workaound works but it probably does. Is just a temporary workaround that you can revert after the fix is released.

    Read this 2 posts from users using the workaround successfully. Guest10 writes about another workaround, that tested successfully for him, perhaps you want to try that one instead of disabling Hardware acceleration.
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=26399#p135706

    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=26399#p135638

    Bo
     
  24. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    i started chromium v74 (as a portable) in sandboxie (still v5.27beta) on win81 x86, no issues. but i need to test on win10 x64 later to verify. could be a x64 issue only!?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.