Sandboxie 4.05 beta out now

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by chris1341, Jul 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    Againo_O I'll pass until the next odd number:D 4.07:doubt:

    I'm fine now on 4.04 don't have KAV or snakes;)
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    I gotta stop too.

    A ton of betas one right after another and the beat goes on. Think I'll wait until Final.
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    Thanks, just installed it and cold start with Chrome seems faster and snappier overall, it is only an impression.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    Also, according to a thread at the SBIE forum, problems with the Opera browser were fixed in this version.

    Bo
     
  6. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    I'm still using Sandboxie 3.76, 32-bit. When I first heard about v4 I heard that it broke/conflicted with several things, and I just didn't want to go through that nightmare... so I stuck with what I knew worked.

    But some time has passed now. It v4 more usable/stable now? Can I expect it to conflict with anything? And what would the advantages be over 3.76?
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    I tried sandboxing Explorer yesterday and it couldn't due to an error. I went to Sandboxie's forum to check if others had the same issue, and apparently it's an old issue, but seems to be related with avast!. I don't use it, though.

    I'm also unable to start other apps because of the same error. Bummer.

    I never had major issues with Sandboxie before, and I didn't use it much either to be honest, but v4 is more like a regression than upgrade. o_O I hope this new beta solves many of the issues users are having with v4.
     
  8. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Sandboxie 4.04 has been running great on Windows 8 since I installed it. The only issue I have found so far is that it takes quiet some time to delete the sandbox for Internet Explorer.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    LD, I am not experiencing anything that I would call an issue in my XP or W7. Neither in a W8 laptop that I have at my home at this time (not mine). To this point in time, V4 is not as stable as V3 ever was but I don't doubt that in the near future, this version not only will be as stable as SBIE has ever been but safer. The changes done in SBIE are to make it more compatible with newer versions of Windows and to make SBIE stronger. In case you haven't read this link, read the first post.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=14454

    In my XP, I have a minor hiccup that no one else has reported and it doesn't bother me any, I am pretty sure that you wont have any problem if you decided to move on to V4. You are not using many other security programs, you wont have any conflicts.

    Bo
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Same here. Deleting the IE sandbox has always taken longer than the time other sandboxes take to delete. It has been like that forever, I remember reading about that but I don't remember the reason or explanation.

    In my computers, sometimes the IE sandbox might take a few seconds longer to delete and other times, it deletes fast/right away as other sandboxes. In my opinion, if your IE sandbox is always taking, say 15 seconds to delete, then your scanner is probably messing things up a little.

    Bo
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    What error did you get when trying to run Windows Explorer, other apps sandboxed? Some people using earlier V4 betas reported problems running WE sandboxed but they got fixed a long time ago. I never experienced any issue running WE sandboxed other than maybe being a little slow moving around Windows but like I said, that was fived a few months ago. Now, running Explorer sandboxed is as good as ever.

    Bo
     
  12. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    SB 4.04 doesnt works with latest opera 15 ... what a disappointment...
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Install the beta that this thread is about to see if your issue is gone. I don't use Opera but according to the thread at the bottom of this post, some "strange" Opera browser issues got fixed with 4.05.01. I cant confirm it but you can try it and see.

    I saw your post at the SBIE forum. Just saying that you wonder why nobody else is reporting a similar issue as you doesn't help. You have to give more information.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15822

    Bo
     
  14. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    thanks deactivated Windows Defender and now it deletes the sandbox instantly.
     
  15. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I tried upgrading to v4 (while retaining current settings), but all hell broke loose on my XP SP3 computer. Freezes, slowdowns, etc. I reverted back to 3.76 and all is well again.

    I'll try it again when I have more time to troubleshoot.
     
  16. wallpapers

    wallpapers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    Until sandboxie gets pass the v4 redesign bugs I have switched to exe radar pro. All sandboxie versions 4 have issues on my computer. It will probably work in a few months. I remember the old days when exe radar pro was so buggy and sandboxie 3.x worked well. Funny how things change *puppy*
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Wallpapers, you can keep using V3.76. In my opinion, the end of the line for V3 will be marked when it gets broken by a Windows update. Until then, I see no reason not to use it just because V4 is in the making. I think this is particularly so for people using XP. This is my opinion regarding using V4 or not using SBIE at all.

    Bo
     
  18. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Sandb0xie 4.05 beta out now

    v4.04 is veryyyy sluggish so I have installed 3.76 until I see some good comments, I think it's still pretty secure
     
  19. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Oh Gosh!!!

    thanks for that, haven't installed yet v4 and reading that then I will just be happy with older v3.76. .. . :argh:
     
  20. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    Triassic
    Tried 4.02 and started getting errors (no crashes) as soon as I opened Chrome, so moved to 4.04 and the same error. Chrome is at latest release. Getting DLL Initialization failure everytime I open Chrome sandboxed, however do not get it when I open Chrome outside SBIE. FF and IE opens just fine sandboxed in 4.02 and 4.04. Chrome is my preferred browser, so had to go back to V3.76.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    That isn't a universal experience. I've got the latest 4.04 on 4 XP SP3 boxes with absolutely no problem at all.

    Pete
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Dantz, if your problem was during installation, Sandboxie recommends to disable the antivirus before the new SBIE driver is loaded when Sandboxie is being installed. If you didnt do, then thats probably that's why you had problems. Like Pete, other than a insignificant hiccup in my XP, I don't have any problems using the latest beta in any of my computers (XP/W7). Also, for the last 10 days or so, I have in my possession a friends W8 computer (free version on this one) and Sandboxie works just fine in it.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2013
  23. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    My problems with 4.04 guiproxy errors and another issue with Outlook seem to have been fixed in the latest 4.05.01 beta, based on a couple of days of usage. Although, it may have been due to the fact that I've uninstalled SBIE completely and recreated my settings from scratch for the latest beta.
    Except for a small issue with W7 taskbar icons (sandboxed program opens to the far right instead of in-place of the clicked icon/shortcut in the taskbar), it's a smooth experience.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Beta Version 4.05.02 was released early today. The first taste of it in my W7 32 bits laptop feels just fine.

    Bo
     
  25. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    Has the sluggishness been fixed?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.