Sandboxie 4.03 Won't Start with Windows

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by silver0066, Jul 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Using Win8, 64 bit. I have checked the configuration to Start Sandboxie when Windows starts. Does not show up on Quick Launch when Windows starts.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Download the latest Beta from the Sandboxie Forum. I have Windows 8 64 bit Standard and the Sandboxie Beta seems to work for me. However, I have only used the version 4.03.03 Beta a few times on my newly acquired Refurbished Laptop and it seems to work OK. I went straight to using the version 4.03.03 Beta because I heard that there were some issues with version 4.03 and Windows 8.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15836
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  3. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    I am using the latest Beta 4.03.03
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Is Sandboxie actually running (see taskmanager) but the icon is not appearing in Quick Launch?
     
  5. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I will check when I get a chance.
     
  6. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    The Sandboxie service is running in taskmanager, but no icon.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    How about trying this, open Sandboxie control in Start menu>Sandboxie, reboot and see if Sandboxie control shows up now when Windows start.

    Or, you can also untick the option for Sandboxie to start with Windows. Close Sandboxie control. Reopen Sandboxie control and once again, tick the option for SBIE to start with windows. Reboot.

    Bo
     
  8. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    Have you tried using something like Autoruns for Windows to make sure that a startup entry exists for Sandboxie?
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Perhaps also check that it is not in the 'show hidden icons' which you can access from taskbar.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.