Sandboxie 3.50

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by LODBROK, Oct 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    Sandboxie 3.50 is available.

    http://sandboxie.com/

    Released on 18 October 2010.

    These are the changes to Sandboxie since version 3.48.

    * Enhancements:

    * Improvements in Sandbox Settings windows.
    * Run Sandboxed action can automatically select the DefaultBox sandbox.
    * Filter outgoing connections on SMB/CIFS ports through the Block Port setting.

    * Problems Fixed:

    * Windows Update KB981852 causing SBIE2304 errors.
    * Drop Rights feature interfering with running programs.
    * Windows Live Messenger 2011 not connecting.
    * Ctrl+clicking on web links in Microsoft Word, when Internet Explorer is set as a forced program.
    * Installing games into a sandboxed instance of Steam in 64-bit Windows.
    * Adobe Photoshop CS5 runs under Sandboxie without having to use Window Access exclusions.
    * System Restriction Policies interfering with Sandboxie on Windows 7.
    * Removal/rename of DefaultBox sandbox interferes with installing applications into the sandbox.
    * Windows Installer (MSI) fails to run in the sandbox on 64-bit Windows.
    * Errors when running some UPX-compressed executables in the sandbox.

    * Improved compatibility with: avast! Pro, AVG 2011, Bsecure CloudCare, CyberPatrol, Handy Folders, 64-bit Outpost Firewall, PretonSaver.
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks LODBROK for update :)
     
  4. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    I haven't updated since 3.46, which still reports no newer version. Is there any reason the update check is no longer working? Any reason to avoid updating?
     
  5. fsr

    fsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    190
    I also skip 3.47 since developer only shipped new licencing system . So i upgraded today, and my older key was converted to the new system, activated online, so far without issues (but i didn't have any before either).
     
  6. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Thanks for the info! :thumb:
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Is it me or does the new look for the Sandboxie settings SCREAM Win95 style? XD
     
  8. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    Thanks!
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sometimes the updater takes a few days before prompting when a new
    version is released. I always do a over the top installation and it works
    great every time. Any reason to avoid updating? of course not, every
    new version of SBIE is better, fixing old bugs and making it more stable
    and secure. I always have the latest release and have never had any
    trouble and you should not have any either.

    Bo
     
  10. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    yes its old school:cool:
     
  11. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Spartan, yet informative, detailed yet easy to understand. My kind of settings :thumb:
     
  12. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    What new look?
    It looks the same as before.
     
  13. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    Had problems when I upgraded from 3.48 to 3.50 in Windows 7 x86. It would not load drivers(SBIE drivers). It would show a diamond with an exclamation point. I did an uninstall first and did not retain my previous config. Rebooted and installed 3.50. But it would not start.

    I had to resort to placing OP Pro ver7 to Auto-Learn mode for it to run. There was no problem when I was using 3.48 then with OP Pro ver7. But when I upgraded with a clean install of 3.50 I encountered this.

    Is there a conflict or something here...? Anybody experienced this?

    How about in OA Premium...? Any untoward or buggy experience?

    Thank you.
     
  14. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Runs great with OA Premium.
     
  15. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Having problems with ver3.50 with Google Chrome ver7 stable and with SRWare Iron ver7 stable....

    Without SBIE both browsers are fine and dandy....any ideas here...
     
  16. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    What other security software are you running?
     
  17. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    I have OA Premium, HitmanPro(on-demand), avastPro, MbamPro(on-demand),Prevx(free)...

    It wasn't like that when I was using Outpost/Comodo on this pc. Judging from the thread/posts here at wilders'....seems it's OA.
     
  18. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    It's a well known problem with OA. Add Chrome/Iron as an exclusion under OA and it will then work fine under SBIE.
     
  19. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    Quick Q (free version):
    How can I set what browser should be invoked when selecting Run Web Browser in the tray icon menu? The option invokes the default browser but I would like to change that to lets say Opera which isn't my def. browser.
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Make a shortcut like this:
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" "Your Browser Path"
     
  21. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    Thanks. :thumb: I've completely forgotten about this "shortcut" trick; I always disable the Sandboxed webbrowser desktop icon in Sandboxie options by inertia so it slipped my mind that poking around there would bring a solution better than I expected (less clicks to start Opera). :)
     
  22. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    I read that allowing screen readers in accessibility settings lowers security. However it seems to me that is only one-way, it makes it easier for programs outside the sandbox to get in, and not programs inside getting out. Or is that not correct?
     
  23. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    I put it here on my laptop, it is simply amazing. Makes a great combination with NIS 2011. Besides being able to force the browser and programs to start in the box, what are the other differences between free and paid versions?
     
  24. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    You can read about the features available with the paid (licensed) version of Sanboxie here: http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?RegisterSandboxie
     
  25. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.