Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30 second Firefox 3.0.9 start

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ypestis, Apr 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ypestis

    ypestis Guest

    I use Xp Pro Sp3,with no other security software other than Returnil Premium.
    and Xp firewall.
    Is there anything to speed up the browser opening?
    (30 seconds is counting the 5 second nag screen.)

    thank you,
    YP
     
  2. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    I think firefox has been known to cause delays, and I've experienced them myself.

    Not a solution to your problem, but you might want to try if firefox portable is delayed. I found it was a lot quicker while sandboxed:
    http://portableapps.com/news/2009-03-28_-_firefox_portable_3.0.8
     
  3. ypestis

    ypestis Guest

    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    Thanks saraceno and ssj100.
    The times i mentioned are "cold starts".
    immediately after a reboot and include the five second screen that comes after 30 days with the free version.
    "Warm Starts" are much better,in the 10 second range.
    In all I can live with it.
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    Open FF sandboxed, close FF then right click SB's taskbar icon and select Delete Contents.

    Check the bottom of the gui that comes up for the amount of data Sandboxie has to cache to get FF fired up.

    SB Delete.jpg
     
  5. ypestis

    ypestis Guest

    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    Yes, I see that if i wait until wmiprvse.exe and wuaudt.exe ,the last two
    process's to start after reboot on my machine,it does seem quicker.
    It seems quicker still if i wait for them to turn off,but this can take awhile.
     
  6. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    ypestis, I tried the portable version again, and it's a 2-3 second start for me. That is with no full FF version installed (uninstalled it).
     
  7. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    Which 3.36 version are you running? I'm using 3.36.01 and it helped me versus the 3.36 version. If you go to the download page you'll find 3.36.04 available for the time being. Perhaps give it a try.
     
  8. ypestis

    ypestis Guest

    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    Ok,thanks innerpeace.
    When I click sandbox tray icon>show window>help>about sandboxie>
    the version shows just 3.36.
    To use the newer versions will I need to remove this version and do a clean install,or can I install over this one?
     
  9. ypestis

    ypestis Guest

    Re: Sandboxie 3.36 causes 30second Firefox 3.0.9 start

    good deal!
    thanks to all for your help.
    yp
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.