Sandbox-X in Mint 8

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by s23, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s23

    s23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Is possible do this? Need install Selinux?

    If not how i can add the apparmor GUI (like the one default in Opensuse) ?


    Thx in advance
     
  2. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Since Novell who own pioneered apparmor, the nifty gui found on their distro SuSE is not found in Ubuntu or other distros so you are stuck with using command like but its not that difficult. You can also find pre made apparmor profiles in the Ubuntu forum.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AppArmor
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Are there any screenshots of AppArmor GUI in Suse?
     
  4. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    As far as I can see no one posting in this Linux forum has been hacked or been the victim of malware - set me straight if this is not true.
    So I think HIPS-like s/ware for Linux may be overkill. Anyway Ubuntu comes with several pre-configured apparmor profiles. The one for Firefox needs to be enabled - it's there waiting for your decision to enable. :argh:
     
  5. s23

    s23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    well... the GUI will help a lot the work... but....
    THX for the link.

    @Ocky
    I know that not exist much malware for linux... but how i only use firefox and pidgin (I not use Thunderbird and use Transmission only to download linux ISOs), i wanna use Sandbox-X to protect these 2... and is a way to learn one thing or two too...

    So looks like no Sandbox-X to Mint... so only enabled the Firefox profile... and will spend some time trying do a pidgin profile.

    Thx all for the replys.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Is it possible to make profile on Suse and then somehow export, then import and edit on Ubuntu?
     
  7. s23

    s23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Well i think is... because all profiles are saved in the apparmor folder (with a default extension i think..). If is... worthwhile give a try...
     
  8. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Yep, I'd say so.
     
  9. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    There is a pre made pidgin profile here at http://bodhizazen.net/aa-profiles/bodhizazen/ubuntu-9.10/
     
  10. s23

    s23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    263
  11. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    You are welcome, Bodhi Zazen is a old time Ubuntu forum mod.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.