Sandbox/Virtualisation/Backup/Etc. software for Win7 RC1 x64?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Swordfish_, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Swordfish_

    Swordfish_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Hello,

    well, they say: "look before you leap", but no, I didn't and after installing W7 RC1 x64 I realized that some of my old and good security apps won't work (I mean GesWall, SBIE and Returnil), so at the moment I am left with CIS, Avira, plan to add Prevx, so the questions are as follows:
    - is there any other sandbox available, other than ZA Force Field, that would work in Vista/7 64bit edition? (I already took a quick look at SBIE forums and see there's no SBIE specifically for 64bit OS'es)
    - if no, is there any other software that could provide at least similar functionality? (well, yes, other question emerging: what about SRWare Iron and it's incognito mode and internal sandbox - is it reliable? However, the problem is not the browser itself but more what to do with apps like uTorrent and so on...)
    - any alternative to Returnil that would work? (Comodo Time Machine is not available yet...)
    - would Paragon Drive work in this case?
    - anyone tried on-demand scanners like SAS, MBAM, A2 on such system?

    (btw. I'll only add that going back to 32bit XP is not an option here...)

    Thank you and best regards :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2009
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    As far as I know there are none for sandboxing, SB will never support 64 bit which is why I ditched it. In my opinion, Opera 10 + wait for Prevx's new secure browsing feature, no eta.
     
  3. Swordfish_

    Swordfish_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Same here. Unfortunately, I need those 64bits and had no choice.

    I already installed Opera 10 beta before - but I wonder, how would it compare to SRWare Iron and FF 3.0.11 with AdBlock, NoScript and other plugins...

    Thanks for the info about Prevx :)
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I've installed Vista Ultimate 64 bit to see the difference with the 32 bit version, so far all I can see is a slight gain in speed. I was curious about your statement "I need those 64 bit", why do you need it?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  5. Swordfish_

    Swordfish_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I plan to upgrade soon to 8gigs of RAM since I use video editing/video effects software that puts a lot of resources on memory, this is more of a future-proof since most of the software is still 32bits, however, I like to have 64bit system from now on to avoid some unpredicted glitches in the future. In 32bit XP I had approximately 3.5 Gigs of RAM available while one application (Combustion) could use ~1.5 Gigs of available RAM. Even if I installed 32bit version of Win 7, sooner or later, I'd be forced to go 64 bits. (btw. there are already Maya and 3DS64 bit, in spite of not being my cup of tea this somehow tells the direction where the GfX apps industry is going)

    Hope this explains everything.

    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2009
  6. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I do not currently use Prevx. The following pdf documents seem to imply that Prevx 3 already has the Secure Browsing feature. Does Prevx 3 already have the Secure Browsing feature?

    Prevx 3.0 Product Overview:
    http://pxnow.prevx.com/zeroL/Prevx_3.0.pdf

    Prevx 3 Secure Browser:
    http://pxnow.prevx.com/zeroL/SecureBrowser.pdf

    Thank you.
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I suggest you hop over to the Official Prevx Support Forums over here and ask your Prevx questions over there.
     
  8. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    How about Rollback Rx/Eaz-Fix - they do support Vista 64-bit
     
  9. Swordfish_

    Swordfish_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Thank you :)
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    It makes sense for your future applications. In my case my memory consumption never goes higher than 1.5 GB, therefore I'm wondering whether it is worth switching to 64 bit.

    I don't know if it has been mentioned, First Defense PC Rescue is 64 bit compatible according to Horizon DataSys, although I haven't test it personally.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.