Sanboxie Firefox crashing while browsing for pictures.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by caspian, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    This just started happening in the last three or four months. Firefox is my default browser and I always use it with Sandboxie. When I browse to find photos and gifs to post on Google Plus or Facebook it crashes. All of my pictures are on an external hard drive. So when I browser to a folder and then maybe a folder within a folder it crashes and then it restarts. But it doesn't do this if I move a picture to my desktop unless I have already browsed to the Ext HD. This never use to happen. Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I suggest you try running Firefox in another sandbox other than the one you are using now. If you are using more sandboxes than the one where you run Firefox, allow Firefox to run in them and see if you find one where Firefox doesn't crash. Also, create a few sandboxes, don't copy settings from any existing sandboxes and then, run Firefox to see if you can upload pictures without Firefox crashing.

    I don't experience your issue in any of my Firefox sandboxes in my computers but I have created sandboxes where I get my sandboxed Firefox to crash using File explorer to upload something. I done that on purpose to reproduce your issue (in the past). I have had in my W7, at the same time, my regular everyday sandboxes where I cant get Firefox to crash even when trying hard to get that done and the sandbox that I create to make Firefox crash almost immediately after opening file explorer to upload something. So, run Firefox in other sandboxes.

    But your problem can also come from a bad Firefox profile or perhaps flash or Protected mode in Flash. I would create a new Firefox profile and then run Firefox sandboxed and see if it doesn't crash when uploading pictures. If your sandboxed Firefox doesn't crash when you upload pictures using this profile, you know your problem comes from the content in the sites you mentioned and probably Flash or protected mode or another conflicting addon. Good luck.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  3. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Thanks Bo. I just use the sandboxie icon on my desktop and delete the sandbox after every use. I don't create any additional sandboxes. The crash happens when I browse to my external drive. I uninstalled firefox and reinstalled it. Still no luck. At least not on Facebook. I'm going to try it on G+. But I did use Comodo Ice Dragon with no crashes. I'm going to try portable Firefox and Cyberfox to see if they also crash.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    For testing, you should create a new sandbox. It is possible Firefox wont crash in another sandbox. Even though you are using Sandboxie's free version, you can create and use more than one sandbox, you just cant use more than one at a time.

    Bo
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Thanks I will try that. I don't know how to create a new sandbox but I'm sure I can find a simple tutorial, thanks.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No need for a tutorial. In less than 10 seconds, you ll create one.

    SBIE Control>Sandbox> Click "Create new sandbox"....in the window that opens, write a name for the new sandbox and below, leave that in None (that's because for what you are doing now, you don't want to copy settings from any existing sandbox).

    Is best you don't change settings until after you run Firefox. You can run Firefox by right clicking the Firefox icon and choosing to run it in the new sandbox. Or, right click the SBIE icon in the taskbar, hover the browser over the new sandbox, Click Run web browser. If Firefox is your default browser and I think it is, it will run in the new sandbox.

    Test it, if Firefox doesn't crash anymore, then start changing settings as you wish. And I ll show you how to create a sandboxed shortcut for Firefox to run automatically in the new sandbox.

    Bo
     
  7. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Thanks so much I will try this!
     
  8. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    732
    Also, turn on the error messages tickbox to see if SBIE is trying to tell you what is wrong. It could be something as trivial as dllhost.exe not in Start/Run...
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Okay I will try that too. I did create a new sandbox and had the same results.
     
  10. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    Hmm try on new clean FF profile: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/profile-manager-create-and-remove-firefox-profiles

    1)
    In run type command: firefox.exe -p
    Than creat new profile and start from this new one. than run firefox in sandboxie and check one again.

    2)Tip
    Its more afect to flash issue but meaby can help: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1018071?tstart=0
    Try disable manualy sandbox module in firefox by addining 1 paramet line on file

    ProtectedMode=0

    To disable Protected Mode, add the following line to your mms.cfg file located in:
    Windows 32bit: C:\windows\system32\macromed\flash
    Windows 64bit: C:\windows\syswow64\macromed\flash

    3)What you have yet instaled on system any kind progams security or other programd media which can affect to firefox proces and make sandboxie conclusion....
     
  11. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    732
    Is dllhost.exe included in the Start/Run tab? That file is triggered whenever file navigation occurs from within an application.

    In regards to 2) above... instead of all those steps, you could just enter about:config and change "plugin.scan.plid.all" from true to false, then reboot browser. This setting change prevents the browser from scanning and registering any plugins.
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Quassar, a few versions ago, Mozilla made it easier to disable Flash Protected mode. Now it can be done by simply unticking "Enable Adobe Flash protected mode" via Firefox Tools>Addons>Plugins>Shockwave Flash, Click Options. No need anymore to add ProtectedMode=0 anywhere.

    Bo
     
  13. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    Y i know it but im man from old data, console mode so pro xD
     
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    outdated setting - disable protected mode in firefox settings for flash.
    what you wrote is for ALL applications, included flash for IE. undermining complete system security without need.

    # ah bo already wrote - nevertheless it undermines system security at all. XP can not use protected mode.

    but i dont get why a flash setting is concerning the trouble with picture. offtopic, isnt it?
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I agree , agree, agree.....and agree.:cool:

    Bo
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    maybe doubled it should stay in heads now ^^
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz

    It worked!! Problem solved. I just changed "plugin.scan.plid.all" to false. Thanks so much for all of the help, guys. Sorry I am so later replying. I've had a lot of family issues lately. But again, thanks!...I appreciate this so much!
     
  18. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    732
    *tips hat*

    EDIT: Geebuz... you weren't wrong about a late replier! :argh::D:thumb:
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    so at least one of your plugins is causing the crashes
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Plugin_scanning

    for refine support you may provide infos from
    Code:
    about:support and about:plugins
     
  20. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Here is about:support

    Application Basics
    Name Firefox
    Version 43.0.2
    Build ID 20151221130713
    Update History
    Update Channel
    release
    User Agent Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:43.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/43.0
    Profile Folder
    Enabled Plugins
    about:plugins
    Build Configuration about:buildconfig
    Memory Use about:memory
    Registered Service Workers about:serviceworkers
    Multiprocess Windows 0/1 (default: false)
    Safe Mode false
    Crash Reports for the Last 3 Days

    Report ID
    Submitted
    All Crash Reports

    This application has not been configured to display crash reports.

    Extensions

    Name
    Version Enabled ID
    Adblock Plus 2.7 true {d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}
    Flagfox 5.1.6 true {1018e4d6-728f-4b20-ad56-37578a4de76b}
    NoScript 2.9 true {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}
    Self-Destructing Cookies 0.4.9 true jid0-9XfBwUWnvPx4wWsfBWMCm4Jj69E@jetpack
    Video DownloadHelper 5.4.2 true {b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}
    Graphics
    Adapter Description Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
    Adapter Description (GPU #2) NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M
    Adapter Drivers igdumd64 igd10umd64 igd10umd64 igdumd32 igd10umd32 igd10umd32
    Adapter Drivers (GPU #2) nvd3dumx,nvwgf2umx,nvwgf2umx nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
    Adapter RAM Unknown
    Adapter RAM (GPU #2) 1024
    Asynchronous Pan/Zoom none
    Device ID 0x0166
    Device ID (GPU #2) 0x0de9
    Direct2D Enabled true
    DirectWrite Enabled true (6.1.7601.19061)
    Driver Date 1-18-2012
    Driver Date (GPU #2) 11-24-2015
    Driver Version 8.15.10.2626
    Driver Version (GPU #2) 10.18.13.5906
    GPU #2 Active false
    GPU Accelerated Windows 1/1 Direct3D 11 (OMTC)
    Subsys ID 181d103c
    Subsys ID (GPU #2) 181d103c
    Supports Hardware H264 Decoding Yes
    Vendor ID 0x8086
    Vendor ID (GPU #2) 0x10de
    WebGL Renderer Google Inc. -- ANGLE (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 Direct3D9Ex vs_3_0 ps_3_0)
    windowLayerManagerRemote true
    AzureCanvasBackend direct2d
    AzureContentBackend direct2d
    AzureFallbackCanvasBackend cairo
    AzureSkiaAccelerated 0
    Important Modified Preferences

    Name
    Value
    browser.cache.disk.capacity 358400
    browser.cache.disk.filesystem_reported 1
    browser.cache.disk.smart_size.first_run false
    browser.cache.frecency_experiment 4
    browser.download.folderList 0
    browser.download.importedFromSqlite true
    browser.download.useDownloadDir false
    browser.places.smartBookmarksVersion 7
    browser.sessionstore.upgradeBackup.latestBuildID 20151221130713
    browser.startup.homepage www.google.com
    browser.startup.homepage_override.buildID 20151221130713
    browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone 43.0.2
    dom.apps.reset-permissions true
    dom.mozApps.used true
    extensions.lastAppVersion 43.0.2
    gfx.crash-guard.d3d11layers.appVersion 43.0.2
    gfx.crash-guard.d3d11layers.deviceID 0x0166
    gfx.crash-guard.d3d11layers.driverVersion 8.15.10.2626
    gfx.crash-guard.d3d11layers.feature-d2d true
    gfx.crash-guard.d3d11layers.feature-d3d11 true
    gfx.crash-guard.status.d3d11layers 2
    gfx.crash-guard.status.d3d9video 2
    gfx.direct3d.last_used_feature_level_idx 0
    gfx.driver-init.appVersion 42.0
    gfx.driver-init.deviceID 0x0166
    gfx.driver-init.driverVersion 8.15.10.2626
    gfx.driver-init.feature-d2d true
    gfx.driver-init.feature-d3d11 true
    gfx.driver-init.status 2
    media.gmp-eme-adobe.abi x86-msvc
    media.gmp-eme-adobe.lastUpdate 1448301725
    media.gmp-eme-adobe.version 15
    media.gmp-gmpopenh264.abi x86-msvc
    media.gmp-gmpopenh264.version 1.5.3
    media.gmp-manager.buildID 20151221130713
    media.gmp-manager.lastCheck 1451955689
    media.hardware-video-decoding.failed false
    media.peerconnection.enabled false
    network.cookie.cookieBehavior 1
    network.cookie.lifetimePolicy 2
    network.cookie.prefsMigrated true
    network.predictor.cleaned-up true
    places.database.lastMaintenance 1451955863
    places.history.enabled false
    places.history.expiration.transient_current_max_pages 104858
    plugin.disable_full_page_plugin_for_types application/pdf
    plugin.importedState true
    plugin.scan.plid.all false
    privacy.clearOnShutdown.offlineApps true
    privacy.clearOnShutdown.siteSettings true
    privacy.cpd.offlineApps true
    privacy.cpd.siteSettings true
    privacy.sanitize.migrateClearSavedPwdsOnExit true
    privacy.sanitize.migrateFx3Prefs true
    privacy.sanitize.sanitizeOnShutdown true
    privacy.sanitize.timeSpan 0
    storage.vacuum.last.index 0
    storage.vacuum.last.places.sqlite 1451955863
    user.js Preferences
    Your profile folder contains a user.js file, which includes preferences that were not created by Firefox.

    Important Locked Preferences

    Name
    Value
    JavaScript
    Incremental GC true
    Accessibility
    Activated false
    Prevent Accessibility 0
    Library Versions
    Expected minimum version Version in use
    NSPR 4.10.10 4.10.10
    NSS 3.20.2 Basic ECC 3.20.2 Basic ECC
    NSSSMIME 3.20.2 Basic ECC 3.20.2 Basic ECC
    NSSSSL 3.20.2 Basic ECC 3.20.2 Basic ECC
    NSSUTIL 3.20.2 3.20.2
    Experimental Features

    Name
    ID Description Active End Date Homepage
     
  21. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz

    Here is about:plugins. It did crash once. But for the most part it's working like it use to. It doesn't crash outside of Sandboxie.

    OpenH264 Video Codec provided by Cisco Systems, Inc.
    File: 1.5.3
    Path: C:\Users\Home Computer\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\jd8phie2.default\gmp-gmpopenh264\1.5.3
    Version: 1.5.3
    State: Enabled
    This plugin is automatically installed by Mozilla to comply with the WebRTC specification and to enable WebRTC calls with devices that require the H.264 video codec. Visit http://www.openh264.org/ to view the codec source code and learn more about the implementation.
    MIME Type Description Suffixes
    Primetime Content Decryption Module provided by Adobe Systems, Incorporated
    File: 15
    Path: C:\Users\Home Computer\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\jd8phie2.default\gmp-eme-adobe\15
    Version: 15
    State: Enabled
    Play back protected web video.
     
  22. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Hehe. Yeah I know. I had some unexpected problems.
     
Loading...