SafeOnline w/ Firefox?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by wingnut65, Nov 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    SafeOnline doesn't seem to work as well with Firefox as it does with IE. Any thing I need to do differently?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Which version of Firefox are you using and any other security software? I myself have no problem with Version 3.6.12 of Firefox!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
  3. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I am using Version 3.6.12 and when I click on the blue Prevx tab and select add protection, nothing happens. In IE it turns green and says protected. I am the same guy from dslr you just helped with installation. lol.... As for other security software, I use Eset NOD32 and MBAM. Thanks.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Glad you came by!

    It could be one of your Firefox Extensions try to disable all of them like if you use AD Block Plus or No Script and restart Firefox to see if that helps and if it does re-enable one at a time! If it continues can you Please send a Prevx scan log as stated in this post: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  5. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Disabled them all and still no go. When I click add protection the main gui comes up. I add the site manually but nothing seems to change. It doesn't seem to recognize host name. ip address,ssl status unkown, and verify ip shortly.

    I sent off the scan log as instructed. Thanks much again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  6. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Just installed the new Prevx on my laptop and it works fine as expected with firefox with the same extensions. Now the plot thickens. There is something blocking SafeOnline from from seeing the Host name and IP address etc. on my desktop. So in a nutshell, it's my issue and not with Prevx or firefox. I will have to try and figure it out now. Thanks for all your help and patience.:)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you have 3.0.1.65 installed on your Laptop like you had on your Desktop that we discussed at dslr? Also do you run MBAM in realtime as the Website Blocker could have some possible effect? PrevxHelp still might have other suggestions when he replies!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  8. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    No, Prevx was never installed before. Fairly new laptop, so I never put the 2nd license on it till this morning. It works great in Firefox and IE. My desktop seems to have more issues with FF now that I uninstalled FF and reinstalled. It wont keep cookies after the browser is closed. Also removed Prevx and reinstalled. I am at a loss now. I am usually successful at trouble shooting but this has me baffled. I have tried everything I can think of. Also mbam is not running in real time, just on demand.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for the extra info! It would be best until PrevxHelp replies and helps you further to get this corrected it could be some left overs from 3.0.1.65 that you still had installed on the Desktop?

    TH
     
  10. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    That's what I am beginning to think, left overs from the old version that didn't remove cleanly. I am unable to find any references to it in the registry though. Thanks again.:)
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You could try these steps to see if it helps your problem? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1685307&postcount=6 I just want to add after you uninstall and reboot do a search for any Prevx Folders and delete them before installing again!

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  12. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, I'll give that a try tomorrow. I am going to take a break from this for now.:)
     
  13. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I just tried both those methods and have the same result. I am convinced it's not a Prevx issue because all the components are there and the safeonline one works like a dream in IE. There has to be something else causing this with FF. When I open the blue Prevx tab it shows the following: Host name-unknown, IP address-unknown, IP verification-IP will be verified shortly, SSL-unknown. In IE, it shows all this and I can add protection and it turns green. What is driving me nuts is that it works on my laptop. Go figure.o_O
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ok thanks for the info PrevxHelp will help out from here on!

    TH
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hmmm.... not sure what would cause that if nothing else is enabled :doubt: Could you let me know what OS and language you're using, and which Windows Theme you have enabled?

    Thanks for the help! :)
     
  16. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I am using Win 7 Ultimate x64, english and I use a wallpaper from my own collection and the basic win 7 theme with some gadgets on the right. The exact theme that is on my laptop where everything works beautifully. Thanks for the help.
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know if you're using the 32bit version of Firefox or the 64bit version? (I believe they've somewhat recently released a 64bit version, which we would not currently be compatible with).

    Thanks! :)
     
  18. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    The folder is located in the x86 folder, so I assume its the 32 bit ver.
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm honestly not sure what would be causing this... you have precisely the same Firefox installation as I do and mine is working fine :doubt:

    Have any other members here seen this? It would probably be safest to just use IE with SafeOnline for now until we find what may be causing this.
     
  20. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I honestly don't either.:doubt: I have even uninstalled FF along w/Prevx 4 times so FF would be vanilla without any extensions and the results are the same. I don't use a software firewall, only Windows FW and even tried turning that off or adding FF and Prevx to it. Still no go.( I am behind a router). It works great on all 3 other pc's. I give up for now. LOL. I'll just use IE, like it better really. Thanks a million for all your help and to Triple Helix also! Your support is stellar! I still recommend Prevx to everyone. I love it.
     
  21. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Just for kicks and giggles, I just installed google chrome and SafeOnline works great on that browser also. (same machine as the one with the problem with FF). Go figureo_O?
     
  22. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Update: I wiped the drive and reinstalled everything. SafeOnline works fine with FF. Something was blocking it before. Good to go now. thanks!:)
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,013
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Very strange and thanks for the update so your good to go now! ;)

    TH
     
  24. wingnut65

    wingnut65 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    I found the issue. I just put back on my fresh install a program called Internet Download Manager by Tonec. That is the conflict with Prevx. FF safeonline reverted to the original problem after I installed IDM. I uninstalled it and it said I had to reboot as it made changes to internet protocols in the browsers. When the system came back up, FF and safeonline worked again. To make a long story short, if you install IDM after Prevx, you have to disable Prevx during the install then everything works correctly. If you install Prevx after IDM, as was the case on my laptop, there's no problem. I have an answer.:D
     
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    That is certainly very helpful! I have never heard of IDM but will be taking a closer look to hopefully prevent this from happening in the future. In the meantime, thank you for you diagnostic help :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.