'Safe version' of bootable rescue media.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pineman, Sep 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    According to the user guide I have to download an installation file from the Acronis website to enable me to create a 'safe version' of the bootable rescue media.

    Can't find the installation file anywhere. o_O
     
  2. Zecke

    Zecke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Send an eMail to support, request for the file. They will send it to you.

    Best regards
    Zecke
     
  3. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    That's what I did and I was referred to this forum! :mad:
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You need to log into your Acronis Account and submit a Support Request. Give them you TI 11 S/N (or select it from the drop-down box of registered products). Ask for download link to the Safe Version of TI 11. They should email you the link. I received my email from them late the next day. I didn't get an automated response from them, though.
     
  5. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    MudCrab

    Thanks for that I've sent a request and I'll see what happens.

    The safe version was readily available on v10, why make it so difficult on v11? :mad:
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I assume they'll get links up eventually so they'll be available when you log into your Acronis Account. Also, maybe the Safe Mode program and plugin weren't ready for release when they released TI 11 (though many would say TI 11 wasn't ready and they went ahead and released it).

    The Safe Mode is 29.4MB and their BartPE plugin is 30.5MB. Add that to the 136MB for TI 11 and you get a 195.9MB download. They may be trying to keep the size down.
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Especially considering that most folks probably never use the safe mode.

     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Overall, I think use the Safe Mode version more than the Full Mode version. It boots a lot faster and it's fairly quick for internal to internal operations.

    I use the Safe Mode version of DD almost exclusively. For quick partition changes, I don't want to wait for the Full Mode version or BartPE to boot. I can have the changes made with the Safe Mode version and be done in less time than either of those would take just to start.
     
  9. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Under ver 10 I had an issue where ONLY the safe version would work and that was with Windows XP.

    I don't want to wait until I find myself in this position again and not to have it available. :cautious:
     
  10. Bluecoat

    Bluecoat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    I've contacted the Acronis support regarding the safe version / BartPE plugin yesterday. Today they send me the download links. Good and fast support!

    They wrote in their email, that the download links to the safe version / BartPE plugin will be available in the "My account" area of the Acronis website in the near future.
     
  11. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Why won't Acronis send me the link then:mad:

    BlueCoat is the link something you could post on this site so that others could use it?
     
  12. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    That would be very unwise because it would open a somewhat truncated version of TI to be downloaded and used by anyone who felt so inclined.
     
  13. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Of course, you're right.

    I'll just have to be patient!
     
  14. Bluecoat

    Bluecoat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Hallo Pinemen,

    sorry, but I do not want to post the links in public. The Acronis support wrote the following statement in their answer mail:

    So I think the links then will be available for all registered users.
     
  15. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    It boots faster in safe mode because it dont have to load the usb drivers.
     
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It boots faster in Safe Mode because it's DOS-based and there is no driver searching/checking going on (not just USB). What's supported by the computer's BIOS is what you get. I get USB support on my computer so there is no need for USB drivers.

    When you boot to the Full Mode (Linux-based) version, it has to try and detect your hardware and load the right drivers. If it has to search or try for a while it can take some time. (Just like booting a Knoppix or Live Linux CD/DVD.).

    This is the same as when you boot BartPE or the Windows Install CD/DVD. It has to look for hardware and try and load the correct drivers. Once Windows is installed and knows the drivers, it can boot quickly. However, if it had to search every time (like the Full Mode version), then it would be slow every time.
     
  17. Pineman

    Pineman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Still waiting for a link from Acronis:'(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.