Safe to run Nod32 without firewall or anything else?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by LaGzo, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LaGzo

    LaGzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I use Nod32 and nothing else, is this ok?
     
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    IMHO it is a good starting point. But i suggest beside NOD32 a Firewall, AntiTrojan, Adaware/Spyware detector would be better. There are several programs of each kind out there. I am using:

    Nod32 - AntiVirus
    Jetico Firewall (nothing for beginner without a basic knowledge of connection, ports, protocols, etc.)
    A-squared freeware (Trojan and Spyware/Adware dector) I use it one time a week - On demand scan
    Ad-Aware (Trojan and Spyware/Adware dector) - I use the realtime shield

    Have a look around in the forum, you will fast find the program you like which fits your needs, and don't hesitate to ask. The people here are more than willing to help.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No :doubt: at the very minimum you would need a NAT Firewall, or Windows XP Firewall.

    There are several setups to be found within the link of my signature.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. gates

    gates Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    @LaGzo
    Nod is good antivirus but you need at least firewall to be safe.
     
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I don't like my or clients PC not being behind a router...always prefer to be behind NAT.

    All windows updates

    Don't leave Administrator password <blank>
     
  6. LaGzo

    LaGzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you so much for the help. What firewall would you recommend? I'd really prefer something that doesn't take up to much CPU usage, like Nod32, something that I can hardly even tell it's running? Unless something like that isn't good, I'd prefer something with more security. Thanks in advanced!
     
  7. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    I am using the combo of Outpost Firewall Pro & NOD32, and I haven't run into any issue yet. :)
     
  8. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Jetico uses on my PC arround 4.5 MB memory.
    But, as i told before, not for beginners; jet it is worth to get knowldege in order to use this powerfull and most flexible FW, not to mention that it is freeware.
     
  9. LaGzo

    LaGzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hmm, I'll give those a try. Thanks, much appreciated! :D
     
  10. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Routers don't take up any CPU on the PC..they have their own. ;)
     
  11. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    759
    Firewall (NAT or SPI) in router only monitor inbound traffic, It views all outgoing traffic from the computer as safe. That's the reason one should also use a software firewall, even if there is already a router.

    I am using router as first line of defense and software firewall as the second line of defense.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Cacherlady, as your post is in relation to an infection, I have split it off into it's own thread HERE.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2006
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    That is somewhat correct..yes... However..depending on what router you have..not "all outgoing"...as we don't know what router we're talking about, or what SPI features we have.

    The decision on if you want full "bi-directional" is up to the end user. For me..all I'm concerned about, for myself, and for most of my clients, is keeping the unknown (the wild side) from coming in.

    For some people though, particularly those who tread in dangerous waters and run risky software (ex...P2P software)..they are high risk..and one might benefit them. Careful users though, who lock down their computers properly, and are careful about web habits..IMO don't need one. It's an endless debate though...a horse well beaten over and over.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.