Safe p2p

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tepe2, Mar 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tepe2

tepe2 Registered Member

I want to use uTorrent to download a couple of videos. How can I do this as safe as possible? (For my security applications see my sig.)

2. Dieselman

Dieselman Registered Member

Well from the looking at your sig you have all bases covered. Just download what you want and scan them before executing them. I download music and videos all the time and never been infected.

3. dave88

dave88 Registered Member

Depending on what you are torrenting you might want to look into an IP blocker that uses blocklists, Peerguardian2, Protowall, and I think the full version of Online Armor supports blocklists as well.

4. tepe2

tepe2 Registered Member

Thanks

Im new to OA and have to learn more about it. Can blocklists be downloaded somewhere or I have to create myself?

Talking about downloading files, how can I scan a downloaded file with Avira inside Sandboxie? I tried right-click but no option to scan.

Edit: I also tried to download a torrent from sandboxed Firefox. The torrent file showed up in uTorrent but could not start to download. Probably some settings I have to adjust, or it cant be done.

5. G1111

G1111 Registered Member

6. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Bluetack offers several blocklists.

Theres other lists such as Emule pawcio's ipfilter and fakelist for emule.
    If you have no option to scan, maybe you didnt install the context menu?
    Recover the torrent file from the sandbox, then open it in an unsandboxed uTorrent.

7. tepe2

tepe2 Registered Member

G1111 and WSFuser, thanks. I will check out the links posted.

I think I did. It works outside SB. I try some more.

8. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Just look in the sandbox (C:\Sandbox\%USER%\%SANDBOX%\...), find the file, and do the right-click scan.

9. baerzake

baerzake Registered Member