safe mode

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by sputnik451, Sep 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sputnik451

    sputnik451 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    XP pro SP2
    IE 7


    Hi,
    I'm having trouble with an app that will only run in safe mode and I want to eliminate PG as the cause of the problem.
    Is it possible to run PG in safe mode?
    I have tried and the GUI loads but dcsuserprot doesn't.
    procguard.exe and pgaccount.exe are both running but get error message "cannot open mutex 2" and the GUI says error in initialiation check dcsuserprot.exe
    Thanks for any help
     
  2. linney

    linney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Posts:
    174
    You may be going about this the wrong way? Why don't you see if you can get your application to run in Normal Mode and disable Process Guard in Normal Mode?

    310353 - How to Perform a Clean Boot in Windows XP
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310353&FR=1&PA=1&SD=HSCH

    316434 - HOW TO: Perform Advanced Clean-Boot Troubleshooting in Windows XP
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;316434&FR=1&PA=1&SD=HSCH

    310560 - How to Troubleshoot By Using the Msconfig Utility in Windows XP
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;310560&FR=1&PA=1&SD=HSCH
     
  3. sputnik451

    sputnik451 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Thanks for your reply
    Yes I had tried that. Are you sure that PG is fully disabled like that?
    Clutching at straws really.
    Regards
     
  4. linney

    linney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Posts:
    174
    If you use the MsConfig tool to disable Startup items and Non-Microsoft Services where they refer to Process Guard, and if you disable Process Guard protection via the Notification Area icon, I think you have eliminated Process Guard from running or interfering.
     
  5. sputnik451

    sputnik451 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    That fixed it :) so it was PG, but why no alert? given that, I wouldn't have been tearing my hair out.o_O
    Thank you very much for your help
    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.