Safe Mode or Normal Mode?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Firebolt059, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebolt059

    Firebolt059 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Posts:
    50
    When scanning my PC with MBAM and SAS, should i do it in normal mode or safe mode?
     
  2. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Normal unless of course you cannot boot into Normal mode.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    for nasty malware Safe mode otherwise Normal
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Some exe killing rogues are still active in safemode.

    In normal mode if an exe killing rogue is active then you can still kill it's process and get a scan going with MBAM or another.

    Hitman Pro with it's ctrl - execute should kill all rogue processes and RKill can do the same.

    Renaming mbam.exe to mbam.com can allow MBAM to run or renaming mbam.exe to opera.exe, firefox.exe or iexplore.exe can work against certain rogues.

    One app that I have found that will still run even with an exe killer active is Icesword where the rogue's process can be killed through Icesword's gui.

    Icesword only works on XP though.
     
  5. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I believe that the developers of MBAM have stated that it should always be run in normal mode if possible in order to leverage maximum removal abilities,I'm not sure about SAS.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.