Russia To Replace AMD/Intel CPUs With 64-bit ARM Hardware

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Veeshush, Jun 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTcyNjU
     
  2. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Well it will offer some competition to Intel and AMD. Which is a good thing for us.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    And what? We'll have to trust KGB now? :rolleyes:

    You don't live in Russia, so I don't think you or anyone who lives outside of Russia will have access for it. United States more than likely will ban these "stuff" anyway.
     
  4. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    I think it's purely just the idea of relying on foreign tech (especially from the US) to power their government systems that'd make them want to make their own.

    Trust no one ;)

    But yeah, I doubt these will be used for things outside their government. It's ARM based, their systems probably have custom motherboards. ARM isn't like the AMD/Intel sockets.
     
  5. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Well if something this shows how deep the NSA tentacles reach. I will be surprised (and frankly disappointed with their foreign inteligence services) if they don't follow with something similar.
     
  6. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.