Running two versions of ATIH at the same time...?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Gianni, Apr 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gianni

    Gianni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Hi!

    i'm on XP Home SP2 and currently running old ATIH 10/4942.

    I'd like to try the new ATIH 2009 12/9709 but i'm wondering if i can install it without removing v10 at first for obvious reasons... :doubt:

    Any conflict using two different versions of program on the same machine ?

    Thanx in advance for advice.
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You can only have one installed. When you install one it will overwrite the other. Trying to run more than one of these progs -- even diff brands -- can lead to lots of pernicous probs.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You might make a full backup with TI 10 and then uninstall it and install the TI 2009 Trial version to see how it works with your hardware. When you are satisfied, you can restore the backup made with TI 10 and you are back to where you are now.

    This assumes that you have successfully restored this system in the past.

    Of course, I have to ask if "old" TI 10 is making and restoring backups for you successfully, why do you want TI 2009? Is there some new feature in 2009 that you feel would be valuable? If not, why upgrade now?
     
  4. Gianni

    Gianni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Just curious about new version mate... :D
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Stifle yourself and enjoy life with an old friend.

    When you buy your next computer, the new hardware will require you to upgrade so that the Rescue CD will have the necessary drivers. Control your longing until then unless you don't have enough probems and want some more. :)
     
  6. Gianni

    Gianni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    TY for your feedback, sounds as you neither support nor recommend the latest TI version...:D
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And even then, you might want to use an older version to install on the PC and make backups and only use the ATI12/2009 bootcd to do restores. Then you can avoid that nonsense re file operations on backup files, consolidation, etc. that comes with ATI12/2009


     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Gianni,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    New features of version 2009 are: One-Click Protection, File search using Google Desktop and Windows Desktop Search, Make reserve copies of your backups, Support for ZIP format, Consolidation of backup files, Automatic computer shutdown after backup or restoration finishes, Archive to various places, More user-friendly. Acronis bootable media has better hardware support.

    You can always download free trial version of Acronis True Image Home 2009 from our web site and test it.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.