Running Processes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by irvdk, Mar 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    I am using ATI 10 Home edition with Vista Business.
    I have the following processes running all the time and would like to know if they are really necessary.

    Schedhlp.exe
    TimounterMonitor.exe
    TrueImageMonitor.exe

    I backup my computer manually twice weekly while in the windows interface.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Irv
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  3. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Whew....Now I am more confused. If what they are saying is that they are really only need when you are doing a backup from withih Windows, then why run them all the time?? Just start them when you want to do a backup??
    Also, if you do a backup outside the Windows GUI then they would not be needed at all??
    Thanks,
    Irv
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    using the recovery media then you definitely wont need the services or even the program; you could uninstall it.
     
  5. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Ok, so that is one possiblility, but what about these?

    "If what they are saying is that they are really only need when you are doing a backup from withih Windows, then why run them all the time?? Just start them when you want to do a backup"??
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    True, they are needed only when doing automatic scheduled backups.
     
  7. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Is there a way to shut them off and then start them backup when I backup?
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Unless you want to do an automatic scheduled backup you don't need them to run. You can still start TI in windows (Start/Programs/Acronis ... or the shortcut that should be on your desktop) without them.
    To shut them off, go to Start/Run and type msconfig in the text box.
    Then click the Startup tab and uncheck any of the lines that has Acronis in them. You will then be asked to reboot.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    I'm afraid that's not quite true. The Acronis Scheduler2 Service needs to be running irrespective of whether you are backing up via an automatic scheduled task or starting the backup manually.

    Regards
     
  10. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I stand corrected ... thank you Menorcaman.
     
  11. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Thank you both for the reply.
    I have shutoff all three of them. I then proceeded to do a backup to my external USB drive and have it verify the archieve. I have to tell you that it worked flawlessly.
    So if you are telling me that the Scheduler2 Service needs to be running irrespective of whether you are backing up via an automatic scheduled task or starting the backup manually you will have to explain whyo_O?

    Thanks Again,
    Irv
     
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Irv,

    Firstly, viewing the running processes in Windows Task Manager, you should have four Acronis processes running - TimounterMonitor.exe, TrueImageMonitor.exe, Schedhlp.exe and Schedul2.exe.

    The first three are started via the Windows HKLM /Run Registry hive, whilst Schedul2.exe is started via the Windows Services. Schedul2.exe is the process that needs to be running whenever you start a backup task.

    How did you shut down the three (?) processes you refer to above? Via the Windows Task Manager? If so, they would have started up again as soon as you next ran True Image. Even if you removed their HKLM entries, schedul2.exe would still be started as soon as you booted into Windows. The only way to stop Schedul2.exe from running is to right click My Computer, select Manage > Computer Management > Services and Applications > Services and then change the Acronis Scheduler2 Service Properties > Startup Type from "Automatic" to "Disabled". Do that, reboot Windows and then try to create an image!! :D

    Regards
     
  13. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Sorry didn't get back to you sooner, but a little under the weather. You are correct as there are four. I had only shutoff only three.
    TimounterMonitor.exe, TrueImageMonitor.exe, Schedhlp.exe.
    Schedul2.exe is still running.

    So is there really any good reason to leave the first three run if you are doing manual backups?

    Thanks,
    Irv
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello irvdk,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please feel free to shutdown these three services if you feel like it, if you don't need to schedule tasks, monitor the operations' progress and mount images in read/write mode.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  15. irvdk

    irvdk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Thank you for your reply. If I were to want to mount an image in Read/Write mode, What would I have to do??
    Irv
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.