Running KIS 6 without extras

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by optigrab, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    I've pretty well exhausted my options and patience in trying to get the full KIS packagage to play nice with my wireless management program. BOTH the Anti-Spy and Web Anti-Virus components cause problems. So right now I'm running KIS with just the On Access Scanner, the "File Antivirus" and the "Proactive Defense".

    Question: Am I reasonably well-protected without the other modules running?

    I can always reinstall BOClean (Comodo) if that would be worthwhile.

    I am loathe to give up on Kaspersky, since I was so excited getting the three-year commercial license as described in this thread: KIS 6.0 for $18.95 till 03/24/2007. Maybe I'll keep trying to resolve the problem. :gack:
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yes youre still protected.

    Also, if youre not even using the firewall, why not just go with KAV?
     
  3. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Will my license work with a KAV install? Is there any point in me switching (better protection, smaller footprint, etc)?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    oh so you already have a license; then i guess youd have to stick with KIS.

    I merely suggested KAV since you arent using any features of KIS.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.