Running KIS 6 without extras

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by optigrab, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    I've pretty well exhausted my options and patience in trying to get the full KIS packagage to play nice with my wireless management program. BOTH the Anti-Spy and Web Anti-Virus components cause problems. So right now I'm running KIS with just the On Access Scanner, the "File Antivirus" and the "Proactive Defense".

    Question: Am I reasonably well-protected without the other modules running?

    I can always reinstall BOClean (Comodo) if that would be worthwhile.

    I am loathe to give up on Kaspersky, since I was so excited getting the three-year commercial license as described in this thread: KIS 6.0 for $18.95 till 03/24/2007. Maybe I'll keep trying to resolve the problem. :gack:
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yes youre still protected.

    Also, if youre not even using the firewall, why not just go with KAV?
     
  3. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Will my license work with a KAV install? Is there any point in me switching (better protection, smaller footprint, etc)?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    oh so you already have a license; then i guess youd have to stick with KIS.

    I merely suggested KAV since you arent using any features of KIS.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.