Running KIS 2010s Proactive Defense & CIS 3.11s Defense+ together?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by nineine, Sep 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nineine

    nineine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    140
    Hi everyone.

    Im just wondering if I could run both of these HIPs at the same time. Currently I have Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 installed with the Firewall, Network Attack Block, Network Monitor, Anti-Spam, Anti-Banner, & Parental Control all deactivated. I disabled those features during installation.

    I plan to use KIS 2010s AV Protection, App Control, Anti-Phishing and Proactive Defense along with Comodo Internet Security 3.11s Firewall and possibly Defense or Defense+. Would this be a good idea to do? If not, then what should I do?

    P.S. -- Mods: Is this thread okay? Better than my previous?
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    probly not a good idea...
     
  3. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    I agree 100%.
    KIS is enough by itself, and you may consider Malware Defender (with some tweaks) as another HIPS layer which will strength KIS as many users here do that (Also see DefeseWall).
    And check the Search function on the forum.
    Good way to find something more will be :
    What is your security setup these days?
    Take time and read the thread from the latest post and go back page by page. You may learn a lot there. You can also see what KIS users use as an addition to thier security.

    If you make them work together you should probably get the Nobel prize.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  4. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I don't think it is a good idea either.

    Two similar applications are always not compatible especially with same function.
     
  5. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    You're looking for a system conflict. :rolleyes:
     
  6. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    are you crazy? :)
     
  7. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Even if there is no visible conflict, the chances are that neither will work properly to maximum effect, in which case the overall protection may be lower than if you just used either one on its own. I agree with the others who have said that it's never a good idea to run more than one HIPS at a time.
     
  8. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,957
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.