Running IFW on customized WinPE

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Mr.X, Dec 24, 2017.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I just use IFW from TBWinRE/PE.

    I rarely use a third party WinPE these days.
     
  2. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Thanks everyone for chiming in and for your help!

    @Brian K When I renamed imagew.ini to imagew64.ini and put my license info in that file, yes, IFW would erase
    that info after I entered it and it opened. This was before I changed it to 'read only', and I think that was the reason
    it was being erased, due to the read only not being set per Terabyte.

    3 files from what I have read here at Wilder's was necessary...if one used the imagew64.exe, you had to include IFW.ini,
    and imagew.ini...then it had to be changed to imagew64.ini for the license.

    Due to how slow IFW is I have not gone any further. I have my WinPe set up with the files, they work fine just slow compared
    to IFL. My wife has the newer computer, Dell, UEFI, etc., and I use IFL boot flash to back her system up weekly,
    and on her system I can backup about 40GB of data and partitions in a little over 5 minutes. Incredible speed while others
    took 15 minutes plus. Her system does not have a SSD, but I thought IFL does great with hers also.

    I have been using Terabyte products since 2012, been doing imaging since around 2000 with a few products, but Terabyte
    has been excellent, and IFL is a real treasure I think.

    Thanks again to all for your help! I will soon be buying V3, but for now, V2.99 has been doing great with our systems. I manage
    3 computers here, doing image backups sure helps with peace of mind.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,300
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim,

    Again, thanks for the feedback. I've forgotten why we needed imagew64.ini and ifw.ini with Ver2 IFW. Ver3 only needs ifw.ini.

    IFW can be slow on some systems and faster on others. But IFL is always faster.

    UEFI systems are interesting and backups need to include more partitions than MBR systems. I either do Entire Drive backups or at least backup four partitions..

    Recovery
    ESP
    MSR
    Win10

    These partitions are backed up to a single .TBI
     
  4. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Thanks Brian, that is what I do on my wifes UEFI system, I image all parts, but not always the Dell "Image" partition. On my MBR systems, I do full backups also, but sometimes just the OS C partition. I have restored my wifes system a few times, just choosing the OS part of the full image backup, that worked great, but I always backup those you mentioned.

    I got the license data working fine now for portable IFW V. 2.99 x64 within WinPe.

    I renamed the imagew.ini to imagew64.ini, added my license data, then set read only attribute to the file.

    That took care of IFW asking me for my license each time. Runs fine, no prompt for license, and no erasing my data from the ini file.

    So the 3 files needed for IFW x64 to run within WinPe, I needed imagew64.exe, imagew64.ini setting the read only attribute after adding my
    license data to the file, and IFW.ini.

    If one uses the x86 32 bit version, they would need imagew.exe, imagew.ini, IFW.ini as far as I can tell, also remembering to set the imagew.ini
    to read only after adding their license data to imagew.ini.

    Glad I got it sorted out with your help. Thanks and have a great day guys!
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,844
    Hi
    but is it safe Sergei Strelec's WinPE ?
    what i like a lot is use total commander or other file manger like xyplorer
    thanks
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    No it is not that's why Peter and some others here use it, we don't care for security.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.