Running IFW on customized WinPE

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Mr.X, Dec 24, 2017.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,671
    Location:
    Mexico
    Guys, discuss this interesting topic in here please...
     
  2. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    As Brian K mentioned how to run IFW on WinPE already, what kinds of other things you want to know?
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,671
    Location:
    Mexico
    Not a single one now, who knows in the future...
    But the reason I created this thread is this:
    Oddly everyone stopped posting about WinPEs and IFW/Terabyte Unlimited prod.
    Weird.
     
  4. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    696
    I think imaging apps are related to WinPE. I put three imaging apps into one WinPE.
    May be IFW is too easy to run in WinPE, therefore, people may not have too much thing to discuss
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    The way I run IFW is I have two WinPESE 10 that I use. Just downloaded them. After burning the ISO's to USB key, I simply added IFW.ini, IFW.log and Image64.exe straigtht from the program files install to the usb key. After booting the key, I just run IFW from the explorer from the USB key. Much faster then building the Winpe from the IFW files.
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,671
    Location:
    Mexico
    When they face new computers with new UEFIs and have some trouble booting WinPEs... Just wait and see.:)
     
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,671
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yup, I can imagine so. So IFW virtually behaves like a portable app.
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,671
    Location:
    Mexico
    Who has tried Image for UEFI (IFU)?
    Linux or DOS based?

    From the Readme file:
    Sounds a bit scary for me.

    Guess it's much better to boot a WinPE in UEFI and launch IFW from there like Peter does, to backup, to restore and hot swapping.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590

    It sure does. If you image this way it drops the need for VSS.
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,650
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I've imaged with IFW from within Windows (hot) and restored from IFW from a PE (cold) as well as restoring from IFL via a boot-up entry. I have yet to have an error with an image, whether they were created with VSS or Phylock. IFW/IFL is just that dependable/indispensable.
     
  11. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    US
    Also @Brian K

    Hey guys
    I just followed your instructions for running IFW on UFD. I am still using IFW 2.99 version. In a folder on my UFD WinPe, I included imagew64.exe, IFW.ini, and imagew.ini, with my license info within the imagew.ini as instructed by Terabyte, formatted like this:
    License
    Key=name 000000-111111-etc...

    When I ran imagew64 in winpe, I was prompted to enter my license data...I thought it was within the imagew.ini file as I entered it in when I included the file in the UFD.

    So I read through some other info here, renamed the imagew.ini to imagew64.ini along with my license info, that did not work either. I don't mind entering my license data each time I use it in WinPe, but what am I missing so that it doesn't prompt me?

    I did not create the WinPe or or WinRe UFD using IFW, but I had followed the instructions as noted here, using the files mentioned. It runs fine, but prompts me to enter my license data each time, and then it states license valid and entered, etc...then it works fine until the next time I boot the UFD. So I included my license data text file to copy and paste. Just trying to figure out what I am missing.

    thank you!
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim,

    Can you copy/paste the contents of your ifw.ini and imagew.ini into your next post? Change your serial to 000000-111111-etc....
     
  13. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    US
    Sure Brian, here they are:

    IFW.ini:
    [Options]
    Win7MBR=0
    GlobalGeoAlign2K=1
    PHYLockUseReg=0x0
    [PHYLock_Options]
    UseVSS=1
    ---

    Imagew.ini:
    [License]
    Key=Name Name 000000-111111-222222-333333-444444-555555-666666-777777-888888-999999-000000

    I also just a bit earlier, found the info about setting my imagew.ini to "read-only", so I did that also. Have not yet tried rebooting to test it.

    Thank you Brian!
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks Jim,

    I'd forgotten about read only. Yes, that needs to be done.
    I think everything needs to be in ifw.ini so I'd make it...

    [Options]
    Win7MBR=0
    GlobalGeoAlign2K=1
    PHYLockUseReg=0x0
    [PHYLock_Options]
    UseVSS=1
    [License]
    Key=Name Name 000000-111111-222222-333333-444444-555555-666666-777777-888888-999999-000000

    I haven't used ver2 since ver3 was released and I've forgotten the significance of imagew.ini.
    imagew.ini isn't used in ver3.
     
  15. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    US
    Thanks Brian...I had also tried renaming the imagew.ini to imagew64.ini but no difference. You may be right, makes sense to me
    that IFW.ini should contain the license data also. I'll give it a try. Usually I use IFL, have been a terabyte customer since 2012, just
    have not bought the latest V3 suite, but that will be soon. I think they are the best of the best.

    As always, I really appreciate your time and effort here. you have always been so helpful. I stop by here often and read and learn,
    great bunch of folks here.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Ver3 doesn't need a read only ifw.ini.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  18. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    US
    Thanks Brian. I have read that article, set the read only attribute, also tried with adding the license data to the IFW.ini,
    but still being prompted for license key in WinPe. The WinPe I am using I created with Lazesoft Recovery Suite Pro, very
    useful WinPe UFD, and I use a lot of portable programs within that also such as IFW.

    One thing I did not try yet, setting the read only attrib. to the renamed imagew64.ini file. I didn't find anything about Terabyte saying to
    rename to imagew64.ini, but that was suggested here a few years ago.

    Apparently, using imagew64.exe required to rename the imagew.ini to imagew64.ini? I'll give it a shot using imagew64.ini with my license data
    and read only attribute.

    I will say, IFW works fine in WinPe, but it sure is much slower creating images than IFL. IFL just blazes and I can create an image of
    the OS about 12.5 GB within about 5 minutes and that is with USB 2.0 external drive. It took IFW in WinPe over 18 minutes to do the same image.

    But I wanted after all this time to at least have IFW available in WinPe. Thanks again Brian, I will let you know what I find.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim,

    Thanks for the feedback. I share your findings with the speed of IFL.

    When IFW doesn't open in registered mode, have a look in the ini. Has registration info been removed?
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,516
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,188
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That should work fine for v3 but when using v2 you had to protect the file containing the license if it was on anything other than a CD/DVD (due to its read-only nature... a vague memory of mine:) )

    I'll test v3 and be back shortly...
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,188
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    For v3 it's as Peter always said... all you need is the proper PE architecture IFW .exe and the "ifw.ini" file... works just fine on a read/write media (UFD).

    Too much trouble to check out the ol' v2, sorry... but I do vaguely remember there being (3) files, not (2), there was another INI file involved. Also, I don't believe v2.99 produced that 3rd file (the extra INI).

    I shouldn't say anymore I may lead you off into the real swamp, sorry :eek:
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Correct. You can run IFW in any WinPE, even from a Win7, 8 or 10 boot disk.
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,964
    Just use the BartPE plugin creator. It will copy the necessary files in a folder and set the read only attributes correctly.


    Panagiotis
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,516
    I like using TeraByte Windows RE/PE boot media with a customised TBLauncher.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.