Running Antivir Classic: Cannot submit samples to antivir

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by besafe, Mar 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    I was able to set up and send a test email to muyself through Antivir. But every time I go to submit a quarantined file, the program gets hung up. When I manually quit antivir, I get an error report telling me that avcenter.exe got hung up.

    What to do?
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    FWIW you can also send samples to AVIRA using virus_malware[AT]avira.com
     
  4. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't been able to send samples for quite awhile, I think it must have something to do with their servers and I am on premium (payed).
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2008
  5. zinarali

    zinarali Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Posts:
    2
  6. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Yes, this is the way Avira prefers you to send samples. If you do it this way, you will get a full report from Avira (anywhere from 12-72 hours) telling you exactly what the lab found and when it will be added to the the VDF or, if it is an FP, when it will be removed.

    If you submit via quarantine it will tend to get hung, plus, you will NOT receive a report from Avira. So, please use the online submission.
     
  7. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Then Avira Should remove "Submit Samples Via Quarantine", and add a sentence on the GUI saying To "Submit Samples From The Avira Website".
     
  8. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I agree, but getting Avira to do something that seems quite obvious and sensible is not easy sometimes. Avira tells us in the forum to use the online submission but doesn't remove the submit from quarantine which has never worked right for me. Plus, who wants to submit and not get a report back?
     
  9. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    I totally agree as well.

    I don't mind having to use a link to upload the sample. Heck, I am thankful to have the ability to submit samples regardless of how they get submitted. But a pet peeve of mine is poor engineering (or poor programming). A product should do what it is designed to do and what it claims to do.

    If ther feature doesn't work then:

    a. fix the feature or
    b. remove the feature

    But keeping the submit button in the program and telling the end user not to use it, that's just plain laziness and poor programming. Take some pride in your work!
     
  10. SteveS335

    SteveS335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Actually, it works perfectly if you have configured your SMTP settings correctly, and have a stable system.

    Normally this would be used for a Heuristic or Generic detection, and the advantage is that it's quick and easy to use - just rescan from quarantine a few days later to see the result of the updated definitions, if the detection isn't critical. Otherwise use the Online Submission as suggested above.

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  11. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    Thank you for the response. Your post implies that I have either:

    1. An unstable system or
    2. Improperly configured SMTP settings

    Now, my email works just fine. And when I configured Avira in expert mode to submit samples, it sent the test email just fine. I am guessing that this means that I don't have any SMTP configuration issues.

    So that leaves me with an "unstable system". Could you further define this term and or hwat you mean by that? If there is any instability in my system, I want to correct it.
     
  12. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii

    What you have said describes my situation perfectly and I don't think I have an unstable system. I save my beta testing and any surfing that might possibly be a bit "risky", etc for my virtual machines. ;) My host machine is quite stable. I simply can't use that method of submission although I too had no problem with a test email.

    Besides, why would I send a possible heuristic FP to quarantine just so I can submit that way? Quarantine submission should be done away with entirely IMO.

    In Avira's defense, the online submission page is fairly new and Avira impresses me as a company that has difficulty changing old ways quickly and/or efficiently. Maybe it is a European thing? I noticed the same sort of behavior with NOD32 and Kaspersky but that was several years ago. I think it has something to do with the reach of the company...the larger it grows and the greater the reach of the program the more it becomes "modernized" ...I hate to use that word but Avira, in some ways, is just plain backward just as NOD32 and Kaspersky used to be. Avira is a study in contrasts as the engine and detection are top notch and very modern yet other aspects of Avira are quite outdated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.