Run XP programs in 7

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi is there a way to run Win Xp old programs in 7 home premium? that XP thing doesn't support it tried to download it no go, thanks.
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,234
    XP mode can't be used with certain hardware.

    What software do you need to run?
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,983
    Location:
    Canada
    Maybe try an XP virtual machine within 7?
     
  4. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Compatibility mode?
     
  5. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    Virtual PC 2007 or Virtualbox. I went back to VPC 2007. It's a lot easier to use than VPC 6.1 that Xp mode requires and all you lose is direct USB support. Virtualbox does that a lot better anyway. Xp mode was kind of a pain and had some security issues that made me uneasy about using it. I couldn't make it work with a LUA so I had a virtualized Xp system in administrator mode with complete access to a Windows 7 system in a limited account. Now I have both VPC 2007 and Virtualbox Xp VMs that are much more isolated from the host system and work fine in a LUA.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2015
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    They are running win 7 home premium i believe, i tried virtual PC 2007 said compatibility pop up wouldn't run ......Failing that i guess buy XP machine. The programs are on disc forgot the names but like a few. I wonder why MSoft only made the XP mode for Professional and above?. I will try the other Virtual program thanks
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2015
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    maddawgz,

    You could install WinXP to the same HD and dual boot. You will need a boot manager, eg BootIt Bare Metal.
     
  8. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    True there is always that thanks :D
     
  9. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    VPC 2007 will run fine in Windows 7 either 32 or 64 bit. If you have VPC 6.1 installed, you get that message. You need to completely uninstall it. It is installed as a Windows update and not an application and you will need to look at the uninstall menu for Windows updates to remove it. That option is on the side of the uninstall menu in the control panel under "View Installed Updates.
     
  10. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Cheers up n running :D
     
Loading...