Routers Vulnerability [Symantec]

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by TairikuOkami, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I'd bet this is pretty successful as I'd suspect there many default passwords out there,..admin, admin/admin, password...
     
  3. cprtech

    cprtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    Canada
    Besides using a strong pw for the router, it would seem also to make sense to look up and manually apply the ISP's dns server addresses into the router, as well as input them into the network configuration settings in Windows. Any thoughts?
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well that will catch out alot of users since most people have javascript active
    in their browsers.
    ive been meaning to change the default username and password in my router but havent done so yet but will make sure i do.
    i cant believe i forgot:D
    of course i have encryption enabled on the router.
    but in my road most people who live there are old and dont know about computers so i didnt think i needed to change it.
    also if i forgot the user name and password i would have to reset the router to defaults.
    i have now made my router save
    its funny because to view that video on the link i had to enable javascript for the symantec site lol

    i use opendns and i have put those settings in to the router
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007
  5. AintGeo

    AintGeo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Home
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.