Router Firewall and WAP MAC Address

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Searching_ _ _, Jun 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Router WAP MAC Address Doesn't Match Device

    Had to do a reset and reconfigure of my router.
    After setting up, I checked the System Monitor info.

    Under Wireless Access Point it shows "connected" but the MAC address doesn't match the MAC listed on my device.

    Out of all of the MAC's listed on the System Monitoring page, none match the info printed on the device.

    Any ideas what is going on?

    Actiontec MI424
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  2. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,090
    Re: Router WAP MAC Address Doesn't Match Device

    The MAC address may be for your router as opposed to the well known MAC address for one's computer which is displayed by the ipconfig command on Windows, and the ifconfig command on Linux/Unix.

    Note: your ActionTec router runs the real-time Linux distro BusyBox, and you can check out the webpage at Wikipedia the bottom of which has a link to your router, or at BusyBox.

    -- Tom
     
  3. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Re: Router WAP MAC Address Doesn't Match Device

    My WAP mac should be the same as that printed on the device. Is this correct?

    System monitoring is from the router via browser. It's own page of all the facts.

    I may have to turn it into a bridge and run pfsense if I can't understand why the difference.
    When in doubt, cut it out.
     
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,090
    Re: Router WAP MAC Address Doesn't Match Device

    I have a MAC ID printed on my Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. D - if that is what you are talking about - then yes, that would be the MAC for the router.

    -- Tom
     
  5. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Understand that a WAP is separate network device, even if located in the same case as the router, and 4-port switch.
     
  6. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    @ Bill Bright

    Thanks for the reminder. My question still remains though.

    @lotuseclat79

    If it's not too much trouble, would you check the System Monitor page?
    In the WAP column, does the listed MAC match what is printed on the outside of the device? Do any of the columns match what is printed on the device?
     
  7. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,090
    Hi Searching_ _ _,

    I have a Broadband Mac address on the Router Status web page that differs only by the last digit to the right from the Mac ID on the sticker.

    There are several Mac Address on the Advanced Status web page on the Full Status/system wide Monitoring of Connections web page selection, none of which exactly match the Mac ID on the sticker. There is no WAP column. I have wireless disabled.

    -- Tom
     
  8. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Stickers can be wrongs and MAC addresses can be changed. Access the device's own setup menu with your browser and see what it thinks it is.
     
  9. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,090
    Hi Bill_Bright,

    That is exactly what I did, I was logged in to the admin web page of my router via my browser.

    -- Tom
     
  10. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    MAC addresses really don't do much - they are easy to discover, spoof, or change. Are you worried someone can gain access, or just curious? Have someone bring over a wireless notebook and see if (1) they can see your network and (2) they can get in.
     
  11. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,090
    Hi Bill,

    This is not my thread. I am just answering questions as I see them.

    -- Tom
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.