Rootkits and AVs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, Oct 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Ut is really necessary to use a seperate rootkit detector, such as RKU or IceSword, when you're using an AV that has the abililty to scan for rootkits. For instance, I use VBA32 and it has an option, on its on-demand scanner, to scan for them. But, in general, if another solution needed?
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's up to the user, I think.
    For instance, KAV and Avira have this option built-in for its on-demand scanning too. Nevertheless, in Avira's case you have to enable this option before the 'complete system scan' in order to make it work.
    .
     
  3. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Some AV's scan for root kits by default. I suppose it does not hurt to use a separate scanner just in case your AV has been disabled by the rootkit.
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    in the case of drweb, there is no option to disable rootkit scanning, it does the all-in-one scan.

    however, there is a standalone scanner, if any malware does shut the antivirus down completely.

    cure it :D

    cant recommend it highly enough.

    i never understand the option to turn on/off rootkit scanning, surely all users will want to add it to their system scan.
    --------
    i aint sure how good the other stand-a-alone rootkit scanners are :doubt:
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    No matter the option of on or off, Aviras is very good. Search the web. You also have the option of just scanning for rootkits by themselves.
     
  6. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    im sure its fine jeff ;)

    but why do some avs have the option for on-off rootkit scanning, surely it should always be on? :shifty:
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Perhaps I should repgrase my question. Are ACs adequate enough at scanning, and cleaning rootkits, so that another standalone product is not needed. U understand there are going to be varying answers for this, but in general are AVs enough to protect against rootkits?
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    probably some good, some bad.

    until a rootkit detect/removal test comes out people just wont know.

    i have faith in mine tho ;)
     
  9. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
  10. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    n8chavez,
    I see in your sig that you're using HjT and Autoruns. Add IceSword and RkU to those tools.
     
  11. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Thank you for the suggestion. Please check your PM, because I do not want to take this thread OT.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.