Rootkit in Vista

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by ASpace, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Until I get answer from ESET , does ESET SysInspector v4 detect a rootkit (hidden process) in your OS (I am running ESS v4 on Vista HP SP1) ?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    Yes, we are aware of such a false positive and are investigating it.
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I just sent you some logs and the file detected to betasupport @ eset . sk . My email is ...@gmail.com

    Thanks!
     
  4. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    471
    same here in a pretty clean vista home premium sp1 install.. need logs eset?
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I just did the SysInspect and seen the rootkit,man I was thinking O No.o_O well that was not my exact thinking but I feel better now I seen this thread.
     
  6. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    It seems to be the sound mixer: audiodg.exe
     
  7. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just ran SysInspect, it's here as well.


    Cheers
     
  8. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Yep, here also. Surely a bug.

    (Vista Ultimate 32 bit SP1)
     
  9. viruscraft

    viruscraft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    114
    I have got the same rootkit report and it makes me really surprise at first.Then I realize that must be a FP.
    Hope will be fixed soon.
     
  10. mross

    mross Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    The bundled Sysinspector finds Rootkit in PID 1264 but gives no details. I have ESS 4 beta on Vista SP1.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.