Rootkit bypasses ZoneAlarm Security Suite and NOD32 2.7(supposedly)...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by CoolWebSearch, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,188
    I found this interesting info on Youtube.com
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gm7WNcNPLKs

    Please, see if that's true, but also note that he is using ZoneAlarm Security Suite 7.0 and NOD32 2.7 which means that he had to disable ZoneAlarm's Antivirus and Anti-Spyware to do that, and also the question how did he configure OSFirewall as well.
    Any comments?
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Uuuhm, instead of the music he could have better explained what is actually doing LOL....
    You cannot even see which version of ZA is using! Looks like ZAfree anyway...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  3. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,188
    Actually, if you look when he logs off you'll it says ZoneAlarm Pro is shutting down...
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, it does not mean its ZAPRO... ;)
    But whats the point of this video... you can't even see the settings nor version used. So, sort of rub**sh test.

    People here are arguing about professional testers and testing methods and we get this very 'profound' and 'detailed' youtube demonstration. LOL

    I'll pass on this...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  5. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    I agree with fax on this, he could have just put it in game mode.
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    FWIW, I also agree.

    Raw data off a youtube site is not worth anything. If a rootkit had bypassed both these mainstream products we would have many more very different sources of information about it.

    This is FUD again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.