Rollback Rx - uninstall issue

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Creer, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Creer

Creer Registered Member

Hello,

yesterday i have installed Rollback Rx on my computer. I have one hard drive with 2 partitions: C and D... i should say i had...
    Today i decided to uninstall Rollback and after boot my windows again (xp with sp3) i have seen only one partition C (system partition) but i lost somewhere my D (data) partition. How can i fix it without losing my data? :ninja:

2. Baldrick

Baldrick Registered Member

Hi Creer

I would seem likely that your MBR has been corrupted during the uninstall. You may want to take a look at the following post by Jo Ann

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1428224&postcount=49

which refers to a mechanism that can help in such circumstances. I am no expert in this area but with a bit of luck Jo Ann and the other regulars who are will be along soon to offer some help. :)

EDIT: You could also try checking as to whether the 'missing' partition is still there by:

Right Click on My Computer icon
    Select Manage from the context menu
    Select Disk Management from the left hand side tree

and see if yo can see all your partitions that way. If you can now see the 'missing' partition I believe that
    there may be a way to mark it as Active under the Action drop down & then slecting All Tasks. But go
    cautiously with this and check the help file first.

This may or may not reveal anything but it may be a start to working out what has happened and where
    you can go from there.

Finally, you could Google for articles using "partition missing after Rollback Rx uninstall" or something
    similar. I got some interesting hits with that but do not have the time to wade through them for you at
    present. Apologies. :doubt:

Last edited: Mar 21, 2009
  3. Creer

Creer Registered Member

Thank you Baldric for help i have tried few solutions.