Rollback RX and wiping free space

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by orian, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. orian

    orian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Is it safe to use a hard disk free space wiper while Rollback is installed? I heard that you can damage your PC doing so. Before I installed Rollback, I used to use a disk cleaner regularly for security reasons, but don’t know if I should now.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    It would probably be a disaster, as the space wiper is assuming sectors are empty based on the windows file system, and it wouldn't know about sectors used by Rollback.

    Pete
     
  3. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello orian;

    I've never used Rollback RX but I have wiped free space while using Comodo Time machine and, as Peter2150 suggested, it WAS a disaster.
    Snapshots were overwritten and my system became unusable.
    Luckily, this took place on one of my non-essential or "practice" hard drives which I use for the specific purpose of trying and testing various software applications and configurations, so the damage was limited to a very slight inconvenience and following a zero-fill and re-image, I was back in business within the hour.

    I'm guessing that all of these rollback applications will be adversely effected by wiping free space, but I could be wrong.
    If you are dying to find out, I strongly suggest you first image or clone your HDD unless everything you currently have on it is expendable.
     
  4. orian

    orian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Guys,

    This is a pity as most of us will need to send our PC to the repair shop at some time. And if it completely crashes, so you are unable to boot (this is still possible even with Rollback installed. It happened to me last year--the PC just went dead, so I couldn't get to Rollback's sub-console) making access to the hard drive impossible, then there's no way to uninstall Rollback and do a disk wipe before taking it to the repair shop.
     
  5. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    You can wipe free space anytime with rollback installed. It is just that all your snapshots will be gone and you will probably need to reinstall Rollback. In case you need to send your hard disk to a repair shop you will probably want to wipe the entire hard disk (free space + data area) and you can do that by booting through BartPE CD or Paragon hard disk manager's rescue disk etc. Your hard disk's manufacturer should also provide a free diagnostic disk which should allow you to zero-fill (wipe) your entire hard drive.
     
  6. orian

    orian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks.

    I wonder if in future Rollback will be able to work around this. It is an excellent program but its major drawbacks are the defragging situation and this one.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Probably not. It's a function of the way the core technology works. It takes a standard windows file, and passes it thru a driver, and places the data in sectors on the disk. It keeps track of them, but the windows file system doesn't know where those sectors are located.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.