rollback and defraging

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by wildernow, Feb 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    Does anyone know if defraging the drive will affect rollback_rx should I decide to restore later?
     
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    do NOT defrag while RX is installed.

    if you want to defrag your hard drive, uninstall RX first from the boot subconsole, defrag then re-install.
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If you defrag ur drive before you install rollback rx theres no need to defrag afterwards as no fragmentation occurs. The only fragmentation that occurs is in the changes you make after installation for which theres a built in snapshot defragger.
     
  4. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    This is not true. It would only apply if you rolled the system back to the installation snapshot.

    Its easy to see that this is true by defragging your drive before installation of Rx, running the PC for 4 weeks or so with Rx installed, run the snapshot defragger, uninstall Rx and run the regular defrag program. You will find a fairly fragmented drive.

    Also, the first reply is correct, you should not run a defrag with Rx installed UNLESS (possibly) you plan to reset the baseline immediately afterwards.
     
  5. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks for your insight. What i am now doing is defrag and then take a snapshot. This would save the trouble of uninstalling to do a defrag.
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    You are supposed to take baseline snapshot, run a dos command to unload Rollback Rx, then defrag, if you want to avoid uninstalling. And, then another baseline snapshot.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it doesn't matter if you defrag and take a snapshot or vice versa.

    you are not supposed to run a defrag app while RX is installed.
    Period.
     
  8. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Are you sure, the forum says otherwise?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    from their own forum:
    -http://horizondatasys-forum.com/rollback-rx/21-rollback-rx-v9-defragging-files-snapshot-degfrag-complete-alternative.html#post75-
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Here is some more from their forum:

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  11. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    tnx KOR,

    i did not know about that one.
    maybe i'll give it a try. :)
     
  12. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    Thats not a good idea. You need to defrag and reset the baseline. You have only so much space for snaps and defragging while Rx is installed will create very large snapshots.
     
  13. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    Same result, extra work. Just either uninstal and do your various clean-ups and reinstall, or defrag and reset the baseline.

    Not sure why you seem to not understand. A number of folks have said the same thing.
     
  14. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't find your observations to be true either. I've been running this system for over month with rollback installed. I just uninstalled it and analyzed the drive using windows built in defragger and it tells me its 0% fragmented.
     
  15. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    I have been using Rx for 2.5 years and I uninstal it monthly to do system maintenance and image using Paragon. Every time I do so I run a defrag and Diskeeper shows the drive to be fairly heavily fragmented. The difference may have something to do with how we are using our respected PCs but thats my experience. I guess the bottom line is you do what you find to be appropriate for you.
     
  16. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    After Installing a SnapShot App (e.g. Rollback Rx, EAZ-FIX, AyRecovery etc.), I use ONLY the built-in Defrag Tool.
    I prefer to do it from the system Sub-Console (i.e. Reboot and press the Home button).
    A second option is to defrag the SnapShots via the program Tray Icon.

    I do NOT use any Defrag Tools (e.g. the Windows Disk Defragmenter or other Defrag Tools)!

    If I had to use any Defrag Tool (apart from the built-in Defrag Tool), I should have:

    -Uninstalled the SnapShot App,
    -Used with the Windows Disk Defragmenter or other Defrag Tool
    and
    -Reinstalled the SnapShot App.
     
  17. wildernow

    wildernow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    28
    but can you still use registry cleaners? i use the eaz-fix defrag option.
     
  18. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    can i use iolo Drivescrubber to wipe free space when using with Rollback RX??
     
  19. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    No. You should not wipe free space while using Rollback RX.
     
  20. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    And the reason why(?) is that the snapshots are hidden from Windows and scrubbing the free space may affect your hidden files (I think).
     
  21. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    Yes, I believe this would be OK as the file changes will not be significant in size.

    By the way, deleting large files will not free up drive space with RX installed because RX protects the space in case it needs to restore the data that was deleted. The snapshots are (as I understand it) the hooks that are associated with the data. This nis why the snaps are small, they are not images of the files, just the details regarding the hooks (BTW I am not sure what a hook is but the name is descriptive enough that I think I understand). Once you reset the baseline the space will become free for Windows to use. Again, this is my understanding of the situation. If I am wrong I would appreciate it if someone could correct me.
     
  22. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Using Disk and/or Registry Cleaners is allowed, but it implies that a new SnapShot must be created.
    (Otherwise, all changes will be removed when the system is restored.)

    As far as Free Disk Space Wiping, I wouldn't use aggressive Tools!
     
  23. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Boyfriend ,bgoodman4 thanks for ur reply.:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.