Rogue Virus Testers Delude Consumers

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ronjor, Jan 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2375605,00.asp
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    It is of course possible for the rogue element to promote such idea but luckily they don't have the reach of malware. Not enough of them
     
  3. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Code:
    Each consumer who [B]declines[/B] [U]renewing[/U] an antivirus [B]subscription [/B]is a [B]win[/B] for the [B]rogue [/B]testers.
    :doubt:
     
  4. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Looks like, traditional security vendors are loosing customer's faith.
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    It is no wonder really. The average joe, who never takes the time to really learn, but just button clicks as needed sees the bottom line -- infection after infection after infection. While not entirely the fault of the security tool, you cannot go around advertising "our tool will keep you infection free" either. The end user believes those statements because they don't know any better. The vendor uses those statements to sell product.

    How many here who are into security believe all of the advertising they read from something like an AV? We know that it might help, but ultimately it is up to the user to take matters into thier own hands, else it is the same thing over and over -- "my AV was up to date, my OS was up to date, my XYZ was up to date, but I STILL got problems".

    Sul.
     
  6. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have helped at least 3 friends that got infected. I know it was their fault. It has tried to get to my wife's computer 3 times. The strange part to me is,the infected people were not on web sites that you would think. But when the screen jumps up telling you that your computer is infected with all these Trojans and viruses ,they panic and click on it. Then they are had. Once you click on it, I don't care what AntiVirus you have you are infected.
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it happened to some of my friends as well.

    the biggest problem i think is that some people view a computer like it's just another appliance.
    they don't know computers, they don't like them and they don't want to learn about them.

    and of course, you're the one they call when there's problem.

    anyway, i'm trialling Drive Snapshot right now as a quick cure to foolishness.
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I see that you have RollBack RX. Wouldn't that enable you to cure a problem?
     
  9. Windchild

    Windchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    571
    This.

    Some of the AV vendors seem to be falling into somewhat of a panic now that it seems many users are no longer willing to pay their annual AV protection money that still won't prevent them from getting owned.

    People don't need "rogue AV testers" to see that AVs can't reliably protect them. All they need to do is use their computers online and see for themselves. Chances are, if they're not getting infected, they wouldn't get infected even without an AV, and if they are getting infected, they do have an AV and it isn't stopping it.
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    When I go online I use FireFox with DefenseWall and Sandboxie. I have Sandboxie set to empty the sandbox when I close FF. Works like a charm.
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    good enough williamp
     
  12. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i'm not the one who's having problem.
    some of my friends are.

    i don't use Rollback RX for mission critical stuff.
    for me, it's more like an utility.

    imaging i think should always be the first priority of defense.
    if you have a clean system image to restore to, you're good to go. :)
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Most businesses are probably not willing to take that risk.

    Anti-virus programs, better called anti-malware programs these days, still have a lot to offer users.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Once you click on anywhere on the fake scan site it downloads an exe which still has to be executed to install the rogue.

    Simple solution for those that reckon they can't use decent security apps like SB, DW... then stop all exe downloads in IE or FF.

    No exe downloads:
    Allow exe downloads:
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this is what i have for my browser protection
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\3]
    "1806"=dword:00000003
     
  16. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    so do u have to manually edit it each time you wanna download / install something?
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yes it's very easy;)
     
  18. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    You can save the "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00" quotes in my my previous post as .reg files and merge as required.
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Kernelwars you lazy bum do it manually:D
     
  20. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    you are right my good friend I am lazy..its my age...dont hate me that I am closing 98 soon:argh:
     
  21. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I really wish that we had a software utility for this kind of minor tweaks.would be fun:D
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.