Risky process: AM3+ processor in AM3 MOBO

Discussion in 'hardware' started by amarildojr, May 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,966
    Location:
    Brasil
    So I just bought a FX 6300, which has an AM3+ socket. Tomorrow my new MOBO will arrive, but until then I'd like to test this processor with my current MOBO which has an AM3 socket (ASRock N68 VS3 UCC).

    I did some research and some people say it works, some don't. I'd like to see more opinions on this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. pulltabking1971

    pulltabking1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    AM3 and AM3+ are two different CPU sockets. Sorry man but you've gotta wait on your new motherboard.
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,966
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yeah, I already got it :D
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As Requested, Thread Closed!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.