return of lop. com :( DONT GO THERE !

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Jade Warrior, Oct 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jade Warrior

    Jade Warrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    DONT LINK TO THIS SITE ! > LOP. COM

    hi.
    i use spywareblaster and it says that it wont let spyware return but that lop. thing keeps coming back !
    i cleaned it off the registry and serched url many times now and its listed lots o times on the spyblaster list
    but i get new one all time...

    i went to get ad/l from a site and lop came up wont let me get there altho theurl is correct >>not lop etc

    any solution plz ?

    the other spys seem undercontrol tho so thnx fer that
    i use spybot too

    TIA

    http://www.jwcl13731.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sunrise/jade.jpg
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Re:return of lop. com :(

    Hi Jade Warrior,

    Since lop.com randomizes it's CLSID's it is almost impossible to block them using SpywareBlaster.
    The CLSID is a (normally) unique identifier that SpywareBlaster needs to set the killbits.
    Some lop variants use a fixed CLSID and those are the ones you find in SpywareBlasters list.

    Read this one how to minimize the chances of infection: http://boards.cexx.org/viewtopic.php?t=957
    The IE security settings in particular are the part that would help in this case.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Jade Warrior

    Jade Warrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    hi Pieter
    thnx fer fast reply and the info :)
    i used t get ie6 updates etc but nothin is perfect lol
    gettin serv pack 4 now then the others
    i altered the browser settings> active x cheers
    i will use the spywareguardsetup.exe too :)

    Q
    how do your apps work ... scans thru ie6 thru my zonealarm f/w ?
    ?
    Q
    make sure your installation of Java VM is up-to-date
    is that part of the serv pack or somplace else ?

    then i will run Jason Levine's Browser Security Tests.
    sorted i hope

    thnx agin !
    J.
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Good thinking. :)

    Not sure which app you are referring to.
    Certainly not one of mine. ;)

    If you are using the MicroSoft version you will be notified at the Windows Update site if you are not up-to-dat.
    If you are using Sun's, the latest version is 1.4.2

    Glad we could help.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Jade Warrior

    Jade Warrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Pieter
    thnx agin for your programs they v important these days
    V COOL :cool:

    i was wondering how >spyblaster etc work cos i dont see them running in start up or taskmanager on w2k
    or in my f/wall xcept thru ie6 ?

    and i will look for vm update too cheers
    maybe u can qualify that on the info post !
    np tho

    thnx agin
    J.
    NO MORE LOP EH he he :)
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Jade Warrior,

    I'm an old geezer from abroad, so be advised that not everything you are writing sticks on this antique. ;)

    The programs are not mine (I wish), but I'm sure javacool will be glad you like them.

    SpywareBlaster makes changes to the registry, so it does not have to be running to protect you. All you have to do is start it once a week and Check for updates.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.