Restoring to dissimilar hardware..easiest

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by country2, Jan 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    My son is going to build his first PC soon to replace his out dated gaming pc and will be using W7 64 bit on old and new.What is the "easiest" way to go about creating a image and restoring it to the new pc?

    I do have terabyte unlimited software...IFW, OSD Tool Suite Pro and Bare Metal I know there is a way of using the OSD tool but the instructions I found on the net seems a little well...not simple.Is there a easier way or better instructions to use Terabyte software.

    Also off subject but on Terabyte Unlimited I have 3 user license if I want to move the last one to a different pc do you just uninstall and re-install on other pc ? Seems like I read somewhere it was somehow tied to your motherboard or maybe I'm getting it confused with another software? Thanks!
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    country2,

    Boot the IFL media and use the TBIDTool. It is easier to use than the OSDTool.

    Boot IFL
    Exit the IFL gui
    click the TBID Tool icon (next to IFL)
    Select a TBI Image File to restore and press Enter (you have to use your keyboard for this app)
    Mount a Partition as Drive 1
    select the partition on the external HD that contains the image
    select the folder
    select the image
    confirm the partition to restore
    On the Select Destination screen, select the target partition on HD0 where you will restore the image or
    ... select First free area of space large enough on HD0
    Don't install driver, continue to next step
    Don't change HAL
    Remove existing drivers except for IDE/AHCI drivers
    Enter a Computer name (your choice)
    Enter a Volume name (your choice)
    Press Enter to continue
    Yes for the Warning (the mouse now works)
    (you can practice the above steps several times and as long as you don't click "Yes" nothing will happen. Just click "No" to exit)
    you will see the image being restored
    you will see Backing-up System registry and Software registry
    you will see cleaning drivers (except IDE/AHCI ones)
    Press Enter to continue
    Enter for Operation completed
    right click the IFL desktop and click Reboot, Yes
    Win7 loads (large icons seen)
    Installing device driver software seen (click the balloon)
    after a few minutes you will see "Your device is ready to use" and the Restart Now request
    Win7 loads with the correct screen resolution and is ready to go
    check Device Manager to see if any devices need custom drivers


    Yes.

    Edit... added "... select First free area of space large enough on HD0"
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  3. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks! I'll see how it goes in about a week.
     
  4. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Well it did not go as l hoped.As soon as W7 started loading kept getting BSOD.Was able to get into safe mode but could not repair or install mobo drivers.Tried letting windows try and repair its self but it was unable.

    Decided heck with it my son has all weekend to load in all his games so guess he'll be busy for a while.

    I may experiment later on to see what went wrong as I still have to original image and a hd laying around.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That suggests you need to load AHCI drivers at around the Don't change HAL step. You can have the drivers on a UFD and browse to them.
     
  6. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    I thought it had something to do with the AHCI driver as been there before few years back...just didn't think about installing it from a flash drive while using Terabyte software.

    guess the AHCI driver kept as I told it to "Remove existing drivers except for IDE/AHCI drivers" were too different?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    See page 50 in the TBOSDT manual re installing specific drivers.
     
  8. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    lol...I tend to treat manuals like i do maps...use them only when the wife is around..

    Thanks for pointing the page out guess I should of been better prepared and read the manual more.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Maybe I've been lucky but I haven't had to install specific AHCI drivers with the Win7 and Win 8 images I've restored to different hardware. Or you are unlucky.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.