Restoring the system at boot-up or shut-down?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by acti, Apr 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acti

    acti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    In True Image 10 it is possible to create tasks for making backups. - But is it also possible to create a scheduled task for restoring the system partition (using the latest True Image Software and Microsoft XP)?

    I would like to do one of the following:

    - automatically restoring the system partition using a True Image archiv (without user interaction) at each boot up

    OR

    - automatically restoring the system partition (without user interaction) when shutting down the system

    acti
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I've seen something like this in a public library system and I doubt it was True Image they were using. This is so no matter what users did to the computers, they would always revert to their "virgin" state when restarted. If you don't get answers here you might try asking at your local library.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    The most useful software for this is from www.faronics.com.

    TI is not designed to restore backups without user interaction.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Sounds like that is what acti needs.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, your suggestion of the Library was right on. They often use DeepFreeze from Faronics. Every boot reverts the system to it's standard state.

    Of course, if you want to install Windows updates or other program updates, you have to turn off that program and create a new baseline. :)
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    LOL, and you know what ... that was a total shot in the dark. But I worked in a library's computer room for a few weeks about 6 years ago and I noticed that feature on them, though I never enquired what was used. Anyway good to know now. Thanks for pointing it out.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.