Restoring Split Images & Testing Restore Function

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Zorak, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zorak

Zorak Registered Member

Hi all. I'm new to Drive Backup Pro 10, courtesy of the recent giveaway (thanks Paragon!!) and have some questions.

I've read in a couple of other threads that there is a Linux kernel limitation which prevents splitting images greater than 2GB. Does this limit also apply when restoring images? Can I create a single image greater than 2GB using DB Pro in Windows and still restore it to an NTFS drive sucessfully using the Linux Recovery CD?

Also, short of actually performing a full restore, what is the best way to test that my system can correctly restore an image using the Recovery CD? I have booted from the CD and restored a couple of files with no problem. Is this good enough or would fully mounting the image in the Linux environment be a better test?

Thanks in advance.

2. SIW2

SIW2 Registered Member

I don't think you can mount the image with the Linux cd.

You can restore an unsplit backup image with the Linux dvd.

You can't create an unsplit image with the Linux cd - it splits to 2gb by default.

Why not use the WinPe boot disc instead?

3. Zorak

Zorak Registered Member

Thanks SIW2 for your response.

I hadn't used the WinPE disc because the "Check Recovery CD" function in DB Pro was reporting my created disks as: "This media is NOT a bootable recovery disk". However I have now just tried booting with one, and guess what? - it IS a bootable disk. There is obviously a bug in Drive Backup's checking function on my setup.

As a general rule, is restoring under the WinPE environment quicker or slower than under Linux? I have a pretty old computer which only just meets the WinPE requirements, so I assumed it might struggle a bit.

4. SIW2

SIW2 Registered Member

You will be fine doing restores with the Linux cd.