Restoring on another PC.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by babac, Sep 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi everyone(including you),

    Under Acronis t.i.version 9, is it possible to restore an image taken on pc #1 and put it on my pc#2 which are wireless connected together?
    Thank you.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    TI does not officially support wireless networks so that might be a problem.

    If you mean to create an image of PC#1 and restore it on PC#2 such that PC#2 now is booting windows off what was the C drive of PC#1 then you are likely to have problems unless the machines are identical due to driver differences etc.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Almost certainly not.
     
  4. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    What I actually want to do is take an image on pc #1 and then select and restore only Nero v.6 on pc#2.
    Do you think it's possible?
    Thank you!
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Only if you can restore all the program files from all the places they were installed (Windows, System, System32, on and on) plus all the registry entries. Easier said than done.
    Even then, unless the two PCs are identical, the settings probably will not be correct for PC2 anyway.
     
  6. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Why don't you just install Nero v.6 on pc#2? o_O Would be so much easier.
     
  7. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    HI,
    Because it takes another licence to do so.
     
  8. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    If you want it on both machines that is the legitimate thing to do.
     
  9. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Not according to this extract -

    The Microsoft License for use of Windows has always been limited to allowing installation on only a single machine (and that excludes having the same copy installed on a laptop as well as a desktop machine: only MS Office is licensed for the combination). Microsoft believes that this has been subject to much casual abuse. WPA is a means of ensuring that a single copy is not installed on more than a single machine.

    http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.php
     
  10. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    It is a wonderful thing this English language !
    What I meant to express was that the phrase "because it takes another licence to do so" is something with which I completely agree.
    To put it more plainly and to make sure that I cannot be further misinterpreted I state that:- Babac should not display his criminal intent to violate the laws of copyright in the columns nor should he follow up with actually commiting such a crime.
    So if he wants to use the program on two different computers he should follow the " legitimate thing to do" which is to take out a second licence for the software.
     
  11. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Whether you install on a second PC or create a 2nd installation by copying the first doesn't make any diff as far as violating copyright. The license for MS Office doesn't aply to any other product. The Nero license alone applies to Nero.

    If the two machines are identical hardware, then it's posible to restore the image form one machine's system drive to the other. You will need to reactivate windows on the 2nd machine because the hardware machine numbers will be diff and Windows will sense that when it boots up. But even if you overcame that hurdle, it would still be violation of copyright, even for MS Office under the MS Office license, unless the ssecond PC is a laptop -- in which case the restore isn't going to work anyway.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello babac,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please be aware that as seekforever said none of the currently available Acronis True Image versions supports wireless network. Please take a look at this previous post for further details.

    Please note that using Acronis True Image 9.0 Home you will be able to restore the separate files/folders from the image archive, however, as TheWeaz mentioned we do not recommend to back up/restore applications only (without backing up/restoring the operating system). The reason is that almost all application writes the information about themselves in Windows Registry and if you restore only the application from the image archive most probably the application will not run or run incorrectly.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  13. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Thank you Aleksandr,
    This is now a part of my general knowledge.:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.