Restoring MBR manually , why ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sgrb, Nov 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    Acronis Knowledge Base teach how to repair MBR using " Bootrec.exe /FixMbr "
    and Bootrec.exe /FixBoot ... ( in Vista ).
    But the saved partition's .tib file shouldn't contain MBR ?
    Many thanks.
     
  2. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42

    Restoring MBR manually >>>
    http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/support/kb/articles/107/

    the saved partition's .tib is not enough ?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    The MBR in the image file should be enough. Doing either of the "fixes" (for XP or Vista), will restore the MBR to either the XP standard or Vista standard code. If your system already is XP/Vista standard, then that's what is already saved in the TI image. If you have a non-standard MBR, then you would want to restore it from your TI image (if necessary).
     
  4. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    I 've Grub bootloader and Vista + Ubuntu installed .
    I 've restored the MBR from the ubuntu.tib ....
    after this Windows did not boot while a message said "\Windows\system32\winload.exe could not be loaded ( status : 0xc000000e ).
    Vista recovery CD has repaired the problem ..(and a new grub setup has
    fixed Ubuntu) .
    Have I a standard or non standard MBR ?
    Many thanks.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    GRUB is a non-standard MBR (meaning it can't be fixed by an XP or Vista MBR repair).

    TI often doesn't restore GRUB so that it can boot properly. This usually requires a reinstall (or repair) of GRUB.

    The Vista boot repair is a separate problem.

    ---

    When you did the image restore, was it to the same drive or a different (new) drive?

    Did you do an Entire Disk Image restore (Disk # checkbox checked) or just restore one or more partitions?

    I have not tested TI 2009 regarding this, but TI 11 did a better job of restoring GRUB to a bootable state if you selected the option to do a sector-by-sector restore (this did not require that the backup was created using this option). However, I think that worked better on GRUB/partition installations and that the GRUB/MBR installation should restore bootable.
     
  6. sgrb

    sgrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Posts:
    42
    Same
    I do two partition images ...Windows.tib and Ubuntu.tib .

    I have TI 11 . I had not set the option "sector-by-sector restore"....anyway the
    restored Grub was fine with Ubuntu...
    Maybe for my bad English I don't understand this step....
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If GRUB was working after you did the restore, then TI did its job correctly.

    For the last part, I was referring to whether you installed GRUB to the MBR or to the Linux partition's boot sector. In your case, you installed GRUB to the MBR. I use a different boot manager so when I install GRUB I select to install it to each Linux partition's boot sector so the MBR isn't changed. I also don't want my Linux installations mixing. I prefer the partitions be independent of each other.

    Vista needing to be repaired is common on any type of system that is not just a plain Windows installation. This is just because of how Windows is setup and how TI works.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.