Restoring Issues

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by kbarnsda, Apr 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kbarnsda

kbarnsda Registered Member

Hello, I am new to XP but have been around a few years otherwise.
    I am also 2 weeks into playing with Acronis.
    I want to learn, experiment, test, try etc before I have to.
    I have a few questions concerning with backup and recovery.
    I am using ONLY complete backups at this time.
    ====================================
    I am assuming I can use the backup feature from within XP.
    I am assuming I can restore this backup after booting, via f11, to the private partition.
    ===================================
    I seem to have hosed up XP SP2 where it WILL NOT BOOT period. It comes up with an error.
    I have had this happen 2 times.

How I fix it is I boot to the private partition and try and restore...first from the Acronis zone.
    If this fails, I try and boot from the WD usb drive I have the "same" dump saved.

I have had it fail to restore with the xp error and failure to boot on ONE but not Both of the images.

=========================================

QUESTION...
    Can you backup while within XP and use this image to restore while booting via the F11 to the private partition?

Is it better to backups by first quitting xp and then booting to the Acronis partition and then backing up?

This seems to be the only thing I can find that I am doing differently.
    FORTUNATELY I get either the Acronis partition to work or if it fails, my USB drive to work.

Thanks for info....
    Ken

2. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

If you made the bootable Rescue TI cd, I would boot from that and try restoring from your usb drive.

You can backup while "within XP" ... but the TI software eventually shells out to Linux anyway so you are not still in XP. Better to use the bootable TI cd for all Backup and Restore features.

3. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member