Restoring Image To System Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by opq, Apr 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. opq

    opq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I was giving TrueImage a try on my Windows Server. I was wondering if I have a two partition hard drive, and I create an image of the system partition to the blank parititon and want to restore the partiiton back, and when it asks to reboot, can I get it to not prompt for anything before it re-images the drive outside Windows?

    The reason being is that I need to restore an image to a remote server I have admin access to but no physical access. Thanks.
     
  2. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    I think the answer is NO. The question have been raised before, and except with the help of non-Acronis utilities to emulate mouse-click (and only when restoring from Windows), the answer is always "Sorry, can not be done. Maybe in version XXX)".
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello opq,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We regret to inform you that current version of Acronis True Image doesn't support remote restore of system partitions. The only way to do it is to boot the computer with Acronis Bootable CD and restore it locally. We will certainly implement this feature in future versions of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  4. bvallanc

    bvallanc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I am considering purchasing the True Image Corpoate Workstation product. I want to be able to do a bare-metal REMOTE restore of all partitions contained on a remote PC, including the primary, active partition that contains the operating system. Am I reading your statement in the previous post correctly that this functionality is NOT supported in your current version 8.0 True Image Corporate Workstation? Am I also correct that the only way to perform a bare metal restore of the primary, active partition that contains the O/S files is to perform the restoration "in person" at the affected PC?

    Thanks For Your Clarification,

    Bill Vallance
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Dear Bill,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    We regret to inform you that current version of Acronis True Image Corporate Workstation doesn't support remote restore of system partition or disk containing system partition. The main reason is that you cannot control computer remotely when it is rebooted. Our Development Team is currently working on implementing special scripting option that will allow you to restore the computer remotely. We expect this feature to be implemented in future versions of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.