Restoring from DVD - How to?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Warpspasm, Apr 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Warpspasm

    Warpspasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I have a backup of my C drive that spans 7 DVDs. For the life of me, I can't figure out how to restore it! I reinstalled XP on a new HD then booted to the Acronis emergency boot disk. The DVD drive didn't show under My Computer. So, I booted to XP, installed True Image 9 and tried to do the restore from within XP. I clicked on restore, but when I click on the DVD drive in the wizard, no backup files show. The disk says Acronis Media with 0 bytes free and 4.378 used, but since there is no .tib file I can't click Next in the wizard. Obviously there must be another way to restore this backup. Can somebody please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    With as many as 7 DVDs, if you do get the restore to start, you'll be swapping those dvd in and out so many times you'll begin to wonder if the dvd drive will wear out. If you have a second hard drive, internal or external, copy all the backup files on to it and try the restore again via the bootable CD.
     
  3. Warpspasm

    Warpspasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I do have one on a hard drive, but the DVD backup is more recent. The main question I had was why can't I get Acronis to recognize the DVD as having a backup. Can you help me with that?
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Warpspasm,

    Which build of TI 9.0 and type of DVD media did you use to create the image as this was a known problem in TI 9.0 Build 3625 and 3633? Check out the links in this <previous reply> of mine.

    Regards
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Warpspasm,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that Menorcaman is correct, and that issue is already fixed in the latest builds. Therefore, please download and install the latest build of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. Warpspasm

    Warpspasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks. I updated to the latest build today. Too late for my DVD backup though. I went ahead with the older one.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.