Restoring From An Image Backup On An External Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ginky4, Nov 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ginky4

ginky4 Registered Member

I am relatively new to Acronis software and really have only used the Disc Clone feature of the software. I just did my first full image (.tib) back up to an external hard drive which completely successfully. It appears to be somewhere around 54gigs. How would I restore from this image if my main hard drive crashed?

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

You need to make the bootable Rescue CD which, when you boot with it, would present you with the basic Backup, Recovery, and Clone features of the True Image software. And you should do this now to check that it will be able to see your External drive and the Backup Image on it.

3. GroverH

GroverH Registered Member

Perhaps my guides link below can help.Both backups and restores are covered. Hopefully, you have also downloaded the Acronis user manual and iinvested some good reading time there also.

4. ginky4

ginky4 Registered Member

I need to correct myself. This is not an external hard drive. Rather it is an internal EIDE hard drive connected as a slave that has my .tib image saved to it. I use this drive for storage only.

When you do a complete backup I am assuming that it includes the operating system, installed programs, and all files. I guess I should start by creating a Rescue CD. I am assurming that this can be a cd and not a dvd.

So once I get this rescue cd created if I should happen to have a hard drive fail I guess you install a new hard drive, boot up off of the rescue cd, and then pull the .tib image from the hard drive that has the image saved on it.

5. shieber

shieber Registered Member